Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Electrical, AC & DC. Electronic Equipment and Computers > Electrical - AC & DC
Reload this Page >

What do you do when finding existing wiring that is the wrong guage..

What do you do when finding existing wiring that is the wrong guage..


  #1  
Old 06-08-18, 09:52 AM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2018
Location: United States
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
What do you do when finding existing wiring that is the wrong guage..

I am adding a Wall heater to an existing but unused Junction Box, and moving another a few feet on the same circuit. The existing breaker is 40 Amp and 220v, but the existing wiring is only 10 gauge, not the 8 gauge that is now recommended. The Condo is about 40 years old, Was it common to run 10 gauge on a 40 amp circuit then? .

I am not running the full amount of juice through this circuit, I am only pulling about 18 amps total, but hope to connect the third heater for 5 more amps, or 23 amps total.

Is the easy fix of simply changing the breaker to 30 amp enough? Are there any downsides except having to calculate the potential Amperage a bit more carefully?
 
  #2  
Old 06-08-18, 09:57 AM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 14,205
Received 369 Votes on 319 Posts
Yes, change the breaker to a 30 amp and you will be good to go.

There are special instances where you can use a higher breaker then allowed but this is not one of them.
 
  #3  
Old 06-08-18, 10:38 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,259
Received 114 Votes on 99 Posts
If this is in conduit the rules are different also.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: