Hard wiring oven

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-16-18, 11:58 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 246
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
Hard wiring oven

Hi-

I had posted in the past about purchasing a commercial oven. Well, I finally got it!

It needs to be hardwired which is what I expected but I assumed it would already have the wiring attached internally. Looks like I need to purchase everything and wire inside the oven itself as well as to the receptacle.

I am attaching info from the manual as well as lots of pictures.

I think the first thing I need to do is understand what components to purchase and then how to wire it secondly. Please don't flame me too badly, but this is what I was thinking.

1) 6 gauge wire 5ft
2) flexible metal conduit ( this will protect the wire as it exits the oven and into the 4" electrical box)
3) strain relief fitting for where the wire exits the oven.

Does this sound right for all the components that I need?
Thanks!

Name:  o1.jpg
Views: 117
Size:  18.1 KB

Name:  o2.jpg
Views: 76
Size:  37.8 KB

Name:  o3.jpg
Views: 107
Size:  28.5 KB

Name:  o4.jpg
Views: 45
Size:  25.5 KB

Name:  o5.jpg
Views: 45
Size:  8.8 KB

Name:  o6.jpg
Views: 66
Size:  17.8 KB

Name:  o7.jpg
Views: 50
Size:  23.8 KB

Name:  o9.jpg
Views: 100
Size:  48.9 KB
 

Last edited by PJmax; 05-18-19 at 11:54 PM. Reason: resized pictures
  #2  
Old 06-16-18, 05:33 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,773
Received 1,324 Votes on 1,224 Posts
Based on how you are placing the tape measure.... that looks like an 1-3/8" hole for a 1" connector.
You will need a 5' piece of 1" Greenfield (flexible metal conduit). That is the metal flex that is used for that type of appliance.
Then you will use #6 THHN/THWN wiring. Looks like two hots and a ground are needed.

A 4" square box is too small for that splice. The minimum would be a 4-11/16 square box.
 
  #3  
Old 06-16-18, 05:42 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 246
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
Thank you. I will start gathering the components and I will report back. I will need help understating how to connect the wires.
 
  #4  
Old 06-16-18, 06:10 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 246
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
I measured the hole in the back of the oven again. it is 1.5". so based on that I assume that this would be the FMC connector I need? i can only guess that it is 1.5" on the side that connects to the oven and 1" on the end the joins with the FMC correct? Thank you.
 
Attached Images  
  #5  
Old 06-17-18, 11:57 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 246
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
I found he bigger box and cover plate. But the largest FMC and FMC connector they have is 3/4. It looks like the FMC they ran to he receptacle is 3/4. For the wire do I want6 gauge 3 wire with ground? Thank!
 
  #6  
Old 06-17-18, 12:25 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,773
Received 1,324 Votes on 1,224 Posts
No.... you need THHN/THWN separate conductors as they are rated for high heat.
 
  #7  
Old 06-17-18, 12:29 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 246
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
Ok, do think 3/4 FMC will fit he wires or just too small? Ty
 
  #8  
Old 06-17-18, 02:06 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,773
Received 1,324 Votes on 1,224 Posts
Three #6's will fit in 3/4" FMC.
 
  #9  
Old 06-17-18, 04:02 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 246
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
Ok. I got all my stuff. Went with the 3/4" FMC, the 4-11/16" box, 3/4" flex connectors. I have three strands of the 6 gauge that you stated (red, white, black) and also an 8 gauge of the green. They said that was the largest gauge ground they had.

I will need to fabricate a plate adapter out of metal for the 3/4" flex adapter to the back of the oven. I have some aluminum sheet that should work. I'm guessing the 1.5" adapter to 1" would have been perfect.

Can you please explain which wires need to go where on both the oven side and the receptacle side? Thank you very much.

Name:  w1.jpg
Views: 48
Size:  21.2 KB

Name:  w2.jpg
Views: 43
Size:  16.0 KB

Name:  w3.jpg
Views: 44
Size:  11.6 KB
 

Last edited by PJmax; 05-19-19 at 12:06 AM. Reason: resized pics
  #10  
Old 06-18-18, 08:46 PM
L
Member
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 1,552
Received 92 Votes on 80 Posts
Your oven is 240V only and therefore, you don't need neutral (white wire). Just cap it off.
Just connect Red and black wires to 1L1 and 5L3 (order does not matter) of the contactor. And ground wire to a ground lug.

You did not have to buy a 6 AWG ground wire. You could have just used 10 AWG ground. Since you bought it already, nothing wrong with using it though. Just a bit harder to work with and costs more.
Also, since you are using a metallic conduit, you don't actually have to to run a separate ground wire. It will ground through the conduit. Still not a bad idea to have a ground wire in case conduit pulls out of.

I'm sure you could have just used a 6-2 NM-b or 6-3 SOOW.
Behind or control side of the oven should not be subjected to a high temperature.
 
  #11  
Old 06-18-18, 09:46 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 246
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
Thanks for the detailed info lambition. hopefully I can dig into this tomorrow AM. will be very excited to finally get this thing up and running!
 
  #12  
Old 06-18-18, 09:59 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,218
Received 103 Votes on 89 Posts
The oven does not meet the criteria to allow the use of flexible cord like SOOW.
 
  #13  
Old 06-22-18, 12:24 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 246
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
Ok, I have everything wired. Does this look OK before I button everything up and flip the breaker?

I wired red and black wires to 1L1 and 5L3 and ground wire to the ground lug as lambition instructed, and capped of the white in the wall box. I got the larger 4 11/16 box as suggested as well.


Thanks for the help everyone, I really do appreciate it. - j

Name:  v1.jpg
Views: 87
Size:  21.8 KB

Name:  v2.jpg
Views: 52
Size:  21.2 KB

Name:  v3.jpg
Views: 56
Size:  14.9 KB
 

Last edited by PJmax; 05-19-19 at 12:01 AM. Reason: resized pictures
  #14  
Old 06-22-18, 03:04 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,773
Received 1,324 Votes on 1,224 Posts
Looks like a good job. I don't see any issues.
 
  #15  
Old 06-24-18, 05:50 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 246
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
I fired her up for a few minutes, all went well.

thank you
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: