GFCI tripping very rarely - equipment questions

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-17-18, 08:37 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 411
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question GFCI tripping very rarely - equipment questions

Hi there,

I have 3 outlets wired in series where the GFCI is the first outlet and the 2 others are wired after. This is my sunroom/office.

I started having an issue where the GFCI outlet abruptly trips and does so extremely rarely (once every 2-3 weeks) with no apparent pattern. What's connected to these outlets are as follows:

- Desktop computer 1 & 2. Desktop 1 is a 10 year old machine that I use as my file server. Desktop 2 is newer, it is water cooled (has radiators/pumps etc inside).
- Amazon Alexa
- Laser Printer
- 7.1 Logitech Speaker System
- Phillips Hue Hub
- 2 Monitors (24" and 30")
- 2 desk lamps (they have Phillips Hue smart bulbs)
- AND Rachio Smart Sprinkler controller

I have no idea why this is happening, what is causing this. Could it be Rachio sprinkler controller? It is connected to 16 total zones + 2 master zones (so that's total of 18 connections in my yard). Or my custom computers?

My concern is twofold:

- Obviously something dangerous is going on and I cant find it
AND
- When I leave for vacation soon for 2 weeks, this will happen and my sprinklers will die and as a result so will my grass

What can I do? I can remove the GFCI outlet (there is an AFCI breaker before it) but I know that's not the right solution.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-17-18, 08:50 AM
Member
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,435
Received 16 Votes on 14 Posts
Sometimes GFCI receptacles wear out. Replacing it would be a valid troubleshooting step.
 
  #3  
Old 06-17-18, 08:54 AM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 4,166
Received 23 Votes on 23 Posts
Hi, are any of the outlets outside? Is there a sprinkler head hitting one or the outlets?
Geo
 
  #4  
Old 06-17-18, 10:52 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 411
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The outlets are all indoors. The sprinkler controller is also indoors (a conduit feeds all the sprinkler cables indoors from outside). The outlet was purchased about 3-4 months ago along with probably 30 other GFCI outlets and this is the only one with the problem. Sprinkler controller has been installed 2 years ago but there never was gfci here. I can change the outlet yes but I m afraid it will be another 3 weeks before it trips and it may do so while I m out on vacation
 
  #5  
Old 06-17-18, 11:45 AM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 4,166
Received 23 Votes on 23 Posts
Is this something that just started happening if all the outlets in question are indoors , why are they GFCI protected?
also just curious, what did you do with the 30 GFCI receptacles?
Geo
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: