Sub panel

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-21-18, 06:13 AM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Usa
Posts: 17
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Sub panel

i have a workshop I ran two number ten wires too. And hooked them to a sub panel as one wire. Can I successfully pull 220 from this sub panel to run a pool heat pump. I am thinking I should replace the two 10 gauge wire for one six gauge. But I don't know what kind of wire I need. I know it's a #6. I need it t be in ground cable. Is the wire to be 6/2 or 6/3? Thanks
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-21-18, 06:53 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
You need four wires for a subpanel, hot, hot, neutral, ground. Only very large wires can be "twined". #10 can't be.

You can either use 6-3 UF-b cable direct buried or conduit with four THWN individual wires, one #6 white, two #6 black, one #10 green. If you use continuous conduit best to use individual wires because UF-b is hard to pull.
 
  #3  
Old 06-21-18, 06:00 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Usa
Posts: 17
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Which type would you suggest direct burial or conduit? Plastic conduit? Is one better? Is one cheaper. My run is near 60 feet counting length of both feed wires up the walls. After upgrading with the six wire will I be able to pull 220 from the sub panel? Thanks for your help, btw
 
  #4  
Old 06-21-18, 07:44 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
After upgrading with the six wire will I be able to pull 220 from the sub panel?
No, your house has 240 volts. It is four wires not six..

PVC conduit or UF-b would be about the same.UF-b would need to be sleeved with conduit where it enters and leaves the ground. Conduit is buried 18" minimum, cable is 24".
 
  #5  
Old 06-22-18, 09:06 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Usa
Posts: 17
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for your help ray when I said six wire I meant the size of wire
 
  #6  
Old 06-24-18, 11:37 AM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Usa
Posts: 17
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
THWN #6 wire individual. I looked this wire up to buy and the wire I found was not a solid wire but multiple wires. I thought this service wire would need to be a solid wire like number 10 wire for instance. So is this multiple wire the type I can use, for shop sub panel?
 
  #7  
Old 06-24-18, 12:14 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,945
Received 30 Votes on 26 Posts
Larger conductors are stranded .
 
  #8  
Old 06-25-18, 08:19 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Usa
Posts: 17
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I have seen # 6 wire with solid copper wire, just thought solid wire was better than stranded but guess not.
 
  #9  
Old 06-26-18, 01:42 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Usa
Posts: 17
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
THWN, when I search it they keep showing thhn-2, Saying but not really saying they use this now instead of THWN. I found the wire, on a web site, 90 dollars of wire and they want 30 dollars to ship. Any place you can recommend to purchase the single strand wire?
 
  #10  
Old 06-26-18, 06:07 PM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: United States, Virginia
Posts: 1,176
Received 23 Votes on 19 Posts
Originally Posted by Hayseed55 View Post
THWN, when I search it they keep showing thhn-2, Saying but not really saying they use this now instead of THWN. I found the wire, on a web site, 90 dollars of wire and they want 30 dollars to ship. Any place you can recommend to purchase the single strand wire?
When you say single strand do you mean solid copper? You may be hard pressed to find solid #6 THHN, not sure it's available. Just in case you don't know you can't buy just one length of one color and use it for the 4 conductors. The neutral must be white and the ground green or bare.
 

Last edited by pattenp; 06-26-18 at 06:47 PM.
  #11  
Old 06-26-18, 06:30 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,945
Received 30 Votes on 26 Posts
Try a local electrical supply house.

solid is harder to work with than stranded.
 
  #12  
Old 06-26-18, 07:59 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 12,966
Received 59 Votes on 52 Posts
The only time I have seen/used solid copper #6 or #8 is bare copper for a grounding electrode conductor.
 
  #13  
Old 06-27-18, 08:05 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,944
Received 42 Votes on 40 Posts
THHN / THWN-2 is OK to use; it's the same wire. Most wires carry multiple ratings. Home Depot, Lowe's and Menards all sell #6 by the foot or by the spool, as will any electrical supply house.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: