Lights not on breaker panel?

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-22-18, 05:00 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Lights not on breaker panel?

We have had a recent upgrade to add outlets for a walk-in tub with heat and massage jets. The "electrician" wired the box to the breaker with our a/c compressor and when remodeling the bathroom cut a hot wire which blew out half the house.

We have been recovering since then. The remaining issues are that no breaker will turn off the lights on several rooms in the house. Even the main breaker in our FPE box does not shut them off. We have a main handle cut off the shuts all power and does cut everything as far as we can tell without proper meters.

Investigation into the breaker box uncovered two Black hots in one breaker. Could this issue throw electricity somehow preventing the breaker from shutting down the power effectively?

Any thoughts on how to trouble shoot would be greatly appreciated. I am currently mapping the power in the house which is from the 70s using a circuit detective and following cables.

thank you!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-22-18, 05:10 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 53,116
Received 374 Votes on 351 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

It sounds like you have multiple circuit breakers feeding the same circuit(s).
Is your "electrician" working with you on this one ?
This may not be an easy problem to locate.
 
  #3  
Old 06-22-18, 06:34 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 3,550
Received 20 Votes on 20 Posts
Have your turned off all breakers and then turned on one at a time and mapped the live lights and receptacles, etc?

As opposed to turn off breakers one at a time and mapped the dead receptacles, etc.
 
  #4  
Old 06-22-18, 08:26 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
When you turn on a breaker and map it as Allen suggested turn it back off before going to the next. That way you will know for sure if two breakers power the circuit.
 
  #5  
Old 06-22-18, 10:10 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,943
Received 30 Votes on 26 Posts
Sorry to say but that is not an electrician. The A/C needs to be a dedicated circuit . The walk in tub most likely needs one also.
 
  #6  
Old 06-22-18, 10:45 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Aw yes, good old FPE.
Even the main breaker in our FPE box does not shut them off
You need to use a meter to see if the main breaker is even shutting power off. After all it is a FPE.

as far as we can tell without proper meters.
Meter wise an $8-$15 analog (not digital) multimeter is all you need.
 
  #7  
Old 06-23-18, 06:08 AM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 3,550
Received 20 Votes on 20 Posts
Two black wires under one breaker terminal screw will not necessarily cause this problem but incorrectly connected wires can.

Two wires may not be held by one screw unless metal parts hold the wires not touching each other and where the wires cannot slip sideways out from under the screw just before tightening.

Mapping out breakers and receptacles can be done with an ordinary table lamp fixture. I suggest having an incandescent bulb, which will more readily reveal some other problems by glowing unusualy dim or bright.
 
  #8  
Old 06-23-18, 10:17 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 10,042
Received 26 Votes on 20 Posts
Sorry to say but that is not an electrician.

My thought exactly! ...................
 
  #9  
Old 06-23-18, 10:22 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks to everyone offering suggestions. I am currently mapping the house and appreciate the suggestion to turn all breakers off then bring them on. I was moving from one switch, light or outlet and finding the breaker which resulted in the circuit detective finding two outlets at times and in one case it was neither and the breaker was not found. We have a outlet tester and a night light that we are using. The new outlet in the Bathroom shows No Ground status on from the outlet tester.

My intention today is to remove one of the two wires to trace the other and then switch to identify how much is drawing on the two. I will also get the analog tester as you suggested and go from there.

I'll keep the thread updated as we go and thanks again!
 
  #10  
Old 06-24-18, 07:05 AM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 675
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
I think the electrical system should be looked at by an "electrician" that setup might be dangerous .
There might be another distribution panel somewhere.
Sid
 
  #11  
Old 06-24-18, 07:26 AM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 12,965
Received 59 Votes on 52 Posts
If tripping the main breaker does not disconnect power from the lights either the breaker is faulty or they are fed from another source.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: