Generator fed cabin panel


  #1  
Old 06-25-18, 05:24 AM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Canada
Posts: 15
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Generator fed cabin panel

Hi, a friend of mine purchased a cabin that has a breaker panel installed. It is set up to be fed from utility but for now is just powered from a 120V generator (no utility services in area) the generator is plugged into a cord that feeds a 30A breaker with the hot wire. Above the 30A breaker there are two 15A breakers with a jumper wire installed between them. Is this done in order to bring power to the other side of the panel ?
thanks
 
  #2  
Old 06-25-18, 06:08 AM
B
Member
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Ct.,USA
Posts: 2,051
Received 111 Votes on 97 Posts
Need make and model number of breaker panel to respond . Also, where is the jumper wire attached to the two 15A breakers?
 
  #3  
Old 06-25-18, 06:29 AM
I
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,942
Received 44 Votes on 42 Posts
Yes the jumper is so that the 120V generator can power breakers on both "sides" of the box. Otherwise, you'd have to leave every other row of breakers empty. It sounds like the breakers are OK for a small generator. If you ever got a 240V generator or utility power the jumper should be removed.
 
  #4  
Old 06-25-18, 10:40 AM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Canada
Posts: 15
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hi thank you for the replyís. Itís a Siemens 125A 16/32 circuit panel. The two 15A breakers are directly above the 30A on the same side and there is a wire between each breaker under the set screw.
 
  #5  
Old 06-25-18, 11:53 AM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 5,049
Received 91 Votes on 86 Posts
Hi, are you saying there is a jumper between the screws on the load side of these breakers? The jumper should be across the line side lugs of the panel, what are these breakers feeding?
Geo
 
  #6  
Old 06-26-18, 07:37 AM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Canada
Posts: 15
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yes the jumper is between the load side screws of the breakers. The breakers do not feed anything.
 
  #7  
Old 06-26-18, 09:19 AM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 5,049
Received 91 Votes on 86 Posts
Hi, really doesnít make any sense.
Geo
 
  #8  
Old 06-26-18, 10:01 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,581
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
really doesn’t make any sense.
What doesn't make sense? So long as the breakers are on opposite legs it sounds correct though I'd think larger breaker might had been used depending on generator size.
 
  #9  
Old 06-26-18, 12:17 PM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 5,049
Received 91 Votes on 86 Posts
Ray, if the OP is jumping the 2 15 amp breakers what is the use of the 15 Amp breakers ,he would be better served to put a jumper across the 2 main lugs or across the terminals of the 30A breaker, that way the 2 15A breakers could be used to connect to a load.
IMO unless I am missing something.
Geo
 
  #10  
Old 06-26-18, 12:54 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,581
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Using the breakers is in fact a method posted here more than once. If the breakers are on opposite legs then the jumper connects the two legs. A two pole breaker might be better but the effect is the same. Main lugs are often rated for only one wire so a jumper can't be used if that is true.
 
  #11  
Old 06-27-18, 06:52 AM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Canada
Posts: 15
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hi all, thank you for the input. Space in the panel is not important in this case. Itís a very small cabin with only a few circuits. First time Iíve seen it done that way though.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: