Breaker box help

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-27-18, 05:36 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Breaker box help

Hello Iím new to electrical work. I just bought an older home and during my inspection I was told there was a minor problem. The conductor going to the breaker box doesnt have conduit around it. My question is how do I fix it or do I even need to. Thanks here is a pic.

[img]blob:https://www.doityourself.com/d4657a45-4e2f-4c90-b4e0-d1e03697f90a[/img]
 

Last edited by Newbie0207; 06-27-18 at 05:39 PM. Reason: Pic
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-27-18, 05:48 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
You picture didn't work. Here's how. https://www.doityourself.com/forum/e...-pictures.html
 
  #3  
Old 06-27-18, 06:04 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
ok i think i have it uploaded now
 
Attached Images  
  #4  
Old 06-27-18, 06:27 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,998
Received 40 Votes on 35 Posts
Where does the conductor go? The picture is hard to see.
 
  #5  
Old 06-27-18, 06:45 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 13,065
Received 73 Votes on 65 Posts
Replace the individual wires with some NM-b cable (Romex) of the same size. Individual wires are required to be in conduit while cables are not, except where subject to physical damage.
 
  #6  
Old 06-28-18, 08:59 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 10,301
Received 43 Votes on 35 Posts
Where are you located? In the USA?
 
  #7  
Old 06-28-18, 09:39 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yes in west Kentucky........
 
  #8  
Old 06-29-18, 11:46 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 10,301
Received 43 Votes on 35 Posts
If a cable, conduit is not required. If individual wires, do as has already been suggested.


Replace the individual wires with some NM-b cable (Romex) of the same size. Individual wires are required to be in conduit while cables are not, except where subject to physical damage.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: