Can I run cable through the panel?

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-28-18, 10:05 AM
Davejb's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 812
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Can I run cable through the panel?

Continuing my generator transfer switch install in my 2004 doublewide. Just got a good deal on a Reliance 10 switch unit @ my local electrical supply house. There is a plastic conduit that runs from under the home right into the bottom of the panel that contains the central air compressor wiring.

There's plenty of room to slide a 10/3 up from the bottom into the panel, then route it out the top of the panel to the transfer switch (other end connected to the genny plug outdoors). Is this allowed, just running a cable through the panel that isn't connected to anything in the panel?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-28-18, 11:02 AM
P
Member
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: United States, Virginia
Posts: 1,287
Received 39 Votes on 33 Posts
Yes it's allowed as long as you don't exceed the fill limits of the panel and or the conduit. Having what you think is plenty of space may not be enough by code.
 
  #3  
Old 06-28-18, 11:26 AM
Davejb's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 812
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thank you, I'll look into how to calculate that.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: