Light Switch Wiring Nightmare

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-28-18, 12:21 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Light Switch Wiring Nightmare

Hello Everyone,
I'm a first time homeowner and we've had the house for a while and our living room should have a 3 way switch for the living room light and a two way switch for the outdoor porch light from the little knowledge I've dug up on Google. We have a light switch on one side of the room that does correctly operate the living room light, but on the panel by the door I have the wiring nightmare seen in the picture. When we purchased the house none of the wiring was correct and the seller tried and failed to find the correct wiring. Now it's time for me to tackle this armed with a multi-meter and some tylenol for the ensured headache. Ive been doing some probing and have found that probed A to B shows 120v and probed A to D shows 120v but not found anywhere else. Any advice or help or links to helpful content is MUCH appreciated.
 
Attached Images  

Last edited by ray2047; 06-28-18 at 01:19 PM. Reason: Add image
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-28-18, 01:23 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
and a two way switch for the outdoor porch light
A 2-way switch is what the British call a 3-way switch. The term is not used in the U.S. It's just a regular light switch.

Tiny pic can not be used for pictures. Here is how to add pictures: https://www.doityourself.com/forum/e...-pictures.html Please post a picture of the other switch box.
 
  #3  
Old 06-28-18, 06:32 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,996
Received 39 Votes on 34 Posts
If you can ring out the cables with a multimeter on continuity to see where they go it will be helpful.
 
  #4  
Old 06-29-18, 07:09 AM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 4,166
Received 23 Votes on 23 Posts
Hi, looks like 2 cables in that box, 1 is a 3 wire and 1 should be a 2 wire, forgetting the grounds, straighten the conductors out pulling them straight out, measure between white and black in the 2 wire cable, let us know the readings.
Geo
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: