Ground Bar - Main Service Panel


  #1  
Old 07-03-18, 11:00 AM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 5
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Ground Bar - Main Service Panel

I am working on cleaning up my main panel as it is currently exceeds maximum number of circuits. My plan is to add a 100amp sub-panel, but I first need to clean up the main panel to make room to add the breaker, and run the neutral and ground wires. My questions on grounding are specific to the MAIN panel.

Currently all of the ground wires (all 42 or so) are under one large bolt. I wanted to add a auxiliary ground bar.

1 - Does the main grounding wire from outside need to attach to the ground bar, or can the ground bar just be bonded to the panel?

2. - If the ground wires to not reach, can extensions be crimped on? Is it one 1 ground per extension, or can multiple grounds be crimped to a single extension.

3. The ground wire from the sub-panel - does that need to connect at the same point as the main ground from outside, or can that go to any point bonded to the main panel.

Panel in Cuttler Hammer from around 1980 +/- a year.

thanks is advance.
 
Attached Images     

Last edited by Daniel Bligh; 07-03-18 at 11:11 AM. Reason: Adding Pictures
  #2  
Old 07-03-18, 11:19 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,399
Received 156 Likes on 138 Posts
You can double up grounds of the same size in the neutral bar or add an auxiliary ground bar and move the grounding conductors to it. The multiple grounds in the lug is not correct . Additional length can be spliced on if needed.
 
  #3  
Old 07-03-18, 11:57 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 11,170
Received 166 Likes on 149 Posts
1 - Does the main grounding wire from outside need to attach to the ground bar, or can the ground bar just be bonded to the panel?
No! The Grounding Electrode Conductor must connect to the neutral bus. The object is to ground the neutral. There should be a lug on the neutral bus to accommodate the GEC.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: