electrical outlets in MA

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-07-18, 08:50 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
electrical outlets in MA

Hello all,

Is there a good description of what standards you need to follow to install compliant outlets in MA in a residential house?

It is a bit confusing. For example, rumor has it that there is a federal regulation requiring you to only use tamper-resistant outlets:

https://www.familyhandyman.com/elect...make/view-all/

However, even the local Home Depot carries non-temper resistant (and much cheaper) outlets. So I would definitely appreciate any help on what the relevant regulations actually are.

Cheers,

Boris.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-07-18, 12:19 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,984
Received 35 Votes on 30 Posts
The NEC requires tamper proof receptacles. Whether the NEC has been adopted or not is up to the local building officials.

Depending on your area you may need to hire a licensed contractor for the wiring.
 
  #3  
Old 07-07-18, 12:57 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 13,028
Received 69 Votes on 61 Posts
Also, you may also be required to upgrade the circuit to AFCI protection if you replace the receptacle(s). Again, this will depend on your local requirements.

According to here: https://www.mass.gov/service-details...lectrical-code you are on the 2017 NEC
 
  #4  
Old 07-07-18, 02:30 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 10,239
Received 40 Votes on 32 Posts
rumor has it that there is a federal regulation requiring you to only use tamper-resistant outlets:

That's what is is, just a rumor. There are no Federal regulations concerning electrical standards that must be met. All regulation and code adoption, amendments, additions and deletions is done at the local or state level, the Feds are not involved.
 
  #5  
Old 07-07-18, 02:42 PM
Member
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 45
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Check with your county inspector on Monday, you should be able to get the # off of your county's website. Good luck, most of those outlets are junk or at the very least a PITA. In addition, AFCI breakers tend to not last very long either, at least in my experience. We live in a very rural area and line surges make the breakers fail quite often, as in they either fail completely, or get so sensitive after a while they pop whenever the wind picks up.
 
  #6  
Old 07-07-18, 02:54 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 10,239
Received 40 Votes on 32 Posts
We live in a very rural area and line surges make the breakers fail quite often, as in they either fail completely, or get so sensitive after a while they pop whenever the wind picks up.

That's a problem I have never seen or heard of with the combination AFCI breakers. Sounds like in your area you need to have a Whole House Surge Suppressor at every house.
 
  #7  
Old 07-07-18, 03:54 PM
Member
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 45
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
CasualJoe, yep, a surge suppressor is in the plans atm, very common problem in the area. Unfortunately, the two things I never work on are HVAC and panel issues, and local quotes for the WHSS are upwards of $1k. As it is now, we have had to install the best plug-in type suppressors on all our electronics until we can get that done, as I simply do not trust the system as it is, and even losing our TV would cost us $3k to replace, let alone the damage to computers.
 
  #8  
Old 07-07-18, 06:17 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,984
Received 35 Votes on 30 Posts
There is whole house suppression that will fit in a panel for way less than your quote.
 
  #9  
Old 07-08-18, 09:46 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 10,239
Received 40 Votes on 32 Posts
Here is a Whole House Surge Suppressor you can install at your main panel yourself for less than $100.


https://www.lowes.com/pd/Eaton-1890-...tor/1000060733


You can continue to use your suppressor strips for supplemental protection as long as the branch circuits they are plugged into have a grounding conductor. No grounding conductor = no protection.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: