Wiremold / plastic Raceway

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-07-18, 06:47 PM
Q
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,730
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Wiremold / plastic Raceway

Is there a reason you can't use 120/240v wires in Raceway and glue/screw it to a wall or baseboard?
​​​​​​ It doesn't seem to be UL listed.
i don't understand how a wood Raceway or drywall is allowed but a wiremold isn't.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-08-18, 05:53 AM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 13,631
Received 209 Votes on 185 Posts
i don't understand how a wood Raceway or drywall is allowed but a wiremold isn't.
You have that backwards. Wiremold is a UL listed raceway and is allowed to be installed on the wall surface to run wires/cable through for power or low voltage. (I would not recommend cable for power)

You may make a "raceway" (chase) out of wood or drywall, but the standard rules fro wiring methods still apply. You may not run individual wires unless it is in a listed raceway or you may run cable as long as it is 1 1/4" away from any nailing face of the framing.
 
  #3  
Old 07-08-18, 05:55 AM
Q
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,730
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Why not recommended for power?
also I'm thinking about running a cable from a baseboard heater to a wall stat.
To get to the junction box, at some point the cable will have to go from the Raceway to inside the wall and in the junction box. Can I do this?
 
  #4  
Old 07-08-18, 06:28 AM
A
Member
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 4,104
Received 81 Votes on 75 Posts
Cable has an extra layer of material (the jacket) which detracts from heat dissipation. As a result conduits and tubes including Wiremold perform better with individual conductors e.g. THWN when larger currents are carried..

I am not sure what transitioning methods (elbows, nipples, etc. are made to get wires out of Wiremold and into a junction box in the wall. But such a junction box must have access from the outside and an appropriate hole in the box cover plate should work well.

Plastic raceways on the wall surface will work because they look like electrical conduits so as not to accidentally get punctured by nails. But a channel carved out in a baseboard, even of the same kind of plastic, would not be approved because the baseboard does not look like a conduit. Metal shielding would be required there to protect against nails.
 
  #5  
Old 07-08-18, 06:58 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
the cable will have to go from the Raceway to inside the wall and in the junction box. Can I do this?
You can put an extension ring on a flush mounted box to enable feed to a surface mounted raceway.
 
Attached Images  
  #6  
Old 07-08-18, 12:07 PM
Q
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,730
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
It's for a tstat though so it's going to stick out a lot if on a surface mounted junction box
 
  #7  
Old 07-08-18, 12:12 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
The flush mounted box could feed a second flush mounted box where the thermostat is actually installed.

I am guessing a baseboard heater so put the first recessed box with the extension ring near the floor and the second recessed box with the thermostst in the same stud bay at the same height as any switches in the room.
 
  #8  
Old 07-08-18, 01:44 PM
Q
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,730
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Is there anything in code preventing the wire from coming directly from the back of baseboard into Raceway then among raceway to another wall, cap off the end of the raceway and then have the cable going inside the wall again just for a few inches?

Not sure i I follow the last one, if it's a flushmount then it sticks out from the wall? If not then I have to get the wire behind wall somehow
 
  #9  
Old 07-08-18, 02:44 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
if it's a flushmount then it sticks out from the wall?
No. flush means it doesn't extend beyond the surface of the wall. Surface mount means it is on top of the wall.

If not then I have to get the wire behind wall somehow
That's the purpose of the extension ring on the bottom box. The extension ring extends about 1Ĺ" beyond the surface of the wall so the surface raceway can go into the extension ring and into the flush mounted lower box.

Is there anything in code preventing the wire from coming directly from the back of baseboard into Raceway then among raceway to another wall, cap off the end of the raceway and then have the cable going inside the wall again just for a few inches?
Yes, if you use wire but cable can be used but wires are easier to run. Wires can not be inside the wall outside of a raceway or sheath. My way means you can use wires. Will post a picture if you need it.
 
  #10  
Old 07-08-18, 08:39 PM
Q
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,730
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Was planning on using nm cable even in the raceway. Yes please if you have a pic. I think I get what you mean...
 
  #11  
Old 07-08-18, 10:56 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
if you have a pic
If this isn't clear ask and I will try to explain.
 
Attached Images  
  #12  
Old 07-09-18, 05:27 PM
Q
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,730
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Got it thanks...but then what's the benefit of that rather than just stopping the raceway and running the cable into the wall and then up to the tstat?
also does it have to be individual conductors in the raceway or can nm also be in the raceway?
 
  #13  
Old 07-09-18, 05:53 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
NM-b may be used in raceway. No advantage to mine really.
 
  #14  
Old 07-09-18, 08:20 PM
Z
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 5,322
Received 112 Votes on 104 Posts
It's a bit off topic, but it may not be as hard to run the cable inside the wall the whole way.

When you're running the cable horizontally, you can probably get away with cutting a few small (6") squares out of the drywall at each stud. Drill a 3/4" hole, add a metal nailing plate, and replace the drywall square and spackle.

Or if you can remove the baseboard molding, you can even notch out the stud just a bit, run the cable and add a metal nailing plate. Then replace the baseboard.

Just other options!
 
  #15  
Old 07-13-18, 07:41 PM
Q
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,730
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Can I put 4 conductors plus 2 grounds in a 3/4" raceway (same circuit) or must they be in separate conduit? 240v conductors black and red twice,
 
  #16  
Old 07-13-18, 07:46 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,150
Received 87 Votes on 74 Posts
Depends on the raceway type and size as well as the conductors size and insulation type.
 
  #17  
Old 07-13-18, 08:07 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
plus 2 grounds
You normally need only one ground wire sized to the highest amp circuit.
 
  #18  
Old 07-14-18, 04:40 AM
Q
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,730
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Wiretrak 3/4 x 1/2
12AWG conductors
the specs say 2 building wire Thhn but it didn'td make it clear if it's conductors or cable
 
  #19  
Old 07-14-18, 06:47 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,150
Received 87 Votes on 74 Posts
If the capacity is listed as 2 conductors you cannot install 5.
 
  #20  
Old 07-23-18, 10:50 PM
Q
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,730
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Do I need to derate the cable if I leave the sheath on?
I've also read some posts where it says you cannot remove the sheath and have just conductors on interiors because conductors don't have labeling on them.

Other factor seems to be it is only 2 conductors, which is less than the 3 specified in code therefore no need to de-rate...
 

Last edited by qwertyjjj; 07-24-18 at 12:03 AM.
  #21  
Old 07-24-18, 06:39 PM
Q
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,730
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Also, are you allowed to do partial conduit runs?
so I could have 10ft of conduit with Thhn inside but then at a certain point I bring it back into the wall and then leave the sheath on for that portion of the run inside the wall to the junction box?
 
  #22  
Old 07-24-18, 07:46 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
The sheath can not be removed. Wire mold comes in different sizes. Use a size adequate for your conductors.
 
  #23  
Old 07-25-18, 08:45 AM
Q
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,730
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Is it because the cable needs to keep it's markings?
I'm not sure about the calculation.
I have the 3/4" x 1/2" mold but the site data says 2 Thhn conductors. If I just put cable in then doesn't the calculation change due to heat or is that only for 3 conductors plus?
it's 0.259 sq inches
click specifications on this link:
https://www.cabletiesandmore.ca/wire...YaApf5EALw_wcB
 
  #24  
Old 07-25-18, 09:14 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Is it because the cable needs to keep it's markings?
Yes, and the individual conductors aren't marked.
 
  #25  
Old 07-25-18, 09:26 AM
Q
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,730
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Any raceway or conduit calculators online that take into account the sheath staying on?
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: