how to add outdoor outlets by the patio

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-09-18, 08:29 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: NJ
Posts: 270
how to add outdoor outlets by the patio

I am looking to add outlets by our patio to plug in pumps for an intex above ground pool. there are two devices
intex pump 637R ac 110/120 V 1.4amp, 99 watt
intex saltwater system eco5510 110/120 V 0.6amp, 65 watt.

I have outside outlets on the house on a 15 amp breaker.
Can I tap into the existing outlet and run wire about 50 feet underground? what wire and do I need to use pvc or other housing?

(I am assuming that running extension cords to these two devices would not be the best choice but it would certainly be simpler and cheaper if it is safe.

these devices both have very large gfci plugs on them so I would need two separate outlets and a waterproof box big enough to handle these monstrous plugs.

any suggestions would be appreciated.
thank you
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-10-18, 07:04 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 12,043
Can I tap into the existing outlet and run wire about 50 feet underground? what wire and do I need to use pvc or other housing?
Yes. You can come off that existing receptacle. You can either use PVC conduit and individual conductors (hot, neutral, ground) and bury it 18", or you can use UF cable and bury it 24". If you GFCI protect the cable before it enters the ground, (IE: install a GFCI at the existing receptacle and connect the cable to the LOAD side of the GFCI) and it is 20 amps or less you can bury it 12".

If you do use cable, you will still need to protect it as it comes up from the 12" or 24" in the ground.
 
  #3  
Old 07-11-18, 01:48 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,433
UF cable cannot be used for pools. The ground has to be insulated . What room are you thinking about extending from?
 
  #4  
Old 07-11-18, 07:01 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: NJ
Posts: 270
thanks for the responses.
pcboss, I want to come out of an outlet on the outside of the house.
Do you have any suggestions for a waterproof box for the outlets that would be large enough for the two overlarge gfci plugs?
thanks
 
  #5  
Old 07-12-18, 06:58 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,342
You'll have to use two single gang boxes set a few inches apart with a conduit nipple between them. I've never seen an oversized two gang exterior box or cover.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'