Pulling heavy gauge wire

Old 07-18-18, 09:15 AM
C
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Pulling heavy gauge wire

Ok, I'm not a certified electrician as you will soon tell. I have a new (she) shed where I have installed a simple 100A subpanel. I ran three simple 20A circuits in the shed on 12/2. One for lights and a dorm fridge, one for outlets down one side, one for outlets down the other and one outlet outside. Adding all her expectations together plus 20% more or so comes to about 25A max expected at any given time in this shed. I am planning to run AWG 6 stranded from a subpanel in a garage to this subpanel in the shed, on a double pole breaker. Total distance from source panel to farthest outlet in shed is approx 125'.

I have pulled the appropriate permits and will need to get it inspected. I have already driven two ground rods at the shed and wired the interior, now I just need to pull the feed from the garage and hook it all up. I would like to use 1" conduit the whole way to give plenty of room. Here's my problem, the route. When I asked the inspector about this element of the design he gave me a short answer that if I didn't know I shouldn't be doing it and to get a certified electrician to do it, which PO'd me and made me want to do it even more.

The only way I can do it is come out the top of the panel, 90 degree across top of a 36' wide garage, 90 degree down to the floor on the other side, 90 degrees through an outlet body out to the trench, and then finally 90 degrees up into the shed. I've done a lot of reading, this is the max amount of bends I can have and I am concerned I will not be able to pull AWG 6 through that whole length even with help. I'm also not crazy about splicing #6 in a junction box and I have not yet looked at the code on that to even know if it's legal.

What do you all think about pulling #6 through this configuration over 115'? How would you do it?

Old 07-18-18, 09:27 AM
T
Received 74 Upvotes on 69 Posts

repeat as needed!