Subpanel connected to meter

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-21-18, 04:14 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Subpanel connected to meter

Hi all,

I am looking to run power out to a shed that is detached from the house. My main breaker is inside the garage, and I could ultimately run power from there. However, outside of the house where the meter is, there appears to be a sub panel that has two 20 amp breakers installed (see picture). What would these breakers typically be used for in this case? And would it be possible to run power from this sub panel if it is a sub panel at all? I appreciate any insight!
 
Attached Images  
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-21-18, 05:21 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
That is your service panel not a subpanel. It has the first OCPD. The garage is a subpanel. Yes you can add a breaker there based on the remaining knockouts. To be sure pull the cover. (Occasionally there are more K/Os than spaces because the manufacturer uses the same cover on different panels.) Which panel you run from should be based on ease of installation and/or closest, and/or available open spaces.
 
  #3  
Old 07-21-18, 05:28 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 54,546
Received 508 Votes on 478 Posts
That is a 2P20A breaker and most likely is there to supply the whole house suppressor on the bottom of that panel. There should be room for one more 2P breaker.
 
  #4  
Old 07-21-18, 08:20 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thank you both, very, very much--I truly appreciate your help! If there is indeed space for another 2P breaker, and I am wanting to power a shed about 60 feet away (a few battery chargers for tools, lights, and several outlets, but nothing like a welder or air compressor would be used within the shed), would 8/3 direct burial and a 60 amp breaker suffice? I was thinking 2P 60 amp breaker on the panel in the picture and a sub panel in the shed.

Thank you, again!
 
  #5  
Old 07-21-18, 08:36 PM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: United States, Virginia
Posts: 1,254
Received 32 Votes on 26 Posts
#8cu is 40A, #6cu is 60A.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: