Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Electrical, AC & DC. Electronic Equipment and Computers > Electrical - AC & DC
Reload this Page >

What size wire to use for a 100A garage sub panel, with a run of 120 feet?

What size wire to use for a 100A garage sub panel, with a run of 120 feet?


  #1  
Old 07-22-18, 07:14 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: United States
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
What size wire to use for a 100A garage sub panel, with a run of 120 feet?

I am Wiring in a 100A subpanel for a new garage off of our 200 amp main panel. The run is about 120 feet, part of it inside across the basement and the rest will be ran underground. Found a wire size calculator, and it says to use 2/0 aluminum or #1 copper, is this overkill? Wondering what size cable to use.
 
  #2  
Old 07-22-18, 07:33 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 62,058
Received 1,505 Votes on 1,393 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

The wire size is correct. How do you plan on wiring the job ?
Cable in the basement to junction box then convert to conduit underground ?
 
  #3  
Old 07-23-18, 11:05 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: United States
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I was planning on running 2/0-2/0-2/0-1 SER cable across basement and then through the wall to outside where it would then be ecased in conduit underground to the garage, all in one continuous length of wire. Would it be a better idea to use a junction block?
 
  #4  
Old 07-23-18, 11:12 AM
Q
Member
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,800
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
We had an electrician do something similar a while back. He used aluminium as it was an outside run and alu cheaper than copper.
 
  #5  
Old 07-23-18, 06:31 PM
P
Member
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: United States, Virginia
Posts: 1,581
Received 144 Votes on 117 Posts
Originally Posted by szman23 View Post
I was planning on running 2/0-2/0-2/0-1 SER cable across basement and then through the wall to outside where it would then be ecased in conduit underground to the garage, all in one continuous length of wire. Would it be a better idea to use a junction block?
SER cannot be placed underground, even in conduit. You need to switch to wire that is allowed underground such as THWN,XHHW, or MHF(USE/RHH/RHW)
 
  #6  
Old 07-24-18, 06:42 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 10,818
Received 108 Votes on 95 Posts
I am Wiring in a 100A subpanel for a new garage off of our 200 amp main panel.

100 amps is a lot of power, do you really need a full 100 amps? You can still use a 100 amp main breaker panel with a smaller feeder such as 6-3 UF-B cable which can be run the entire distance, both above and underground, and fed with a 2 pole 60 amp breaker.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: