wiring digital timer

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-24-18, 12:39 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: usa
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
wiring digital timer

I am trying to replace a 3 way wall switch to a light fixture with a Defiant wall digital timer. The back of the new timer has 4 connections screws: Traveler; Load; Line; Neutral. I have labelled the Common (black screw) wire from the original 3 way switch. The other 2 wires from the original 3 way are black and red. On the second wall switch of the 3 way system, there are 3 wires: Common (black) wire, another black and a red. I have removed the red wire on this switch and joined it this the black common wire.
On the timer, after trying unsuccessfully to follow cryptic instructions, I have done all 6 possible permutations of the 3 wires (Common, Red and other black wires) to the Traveler, Load and Line terminals - does not work. So I'm stuck on the proper wire to which terminal. Your help much appreciated. Thank you.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-24-18, 02:08 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Do you have a neutral at the switch?
 

Last edited by ray2047; 07-24-18 at 05:54 PM.
  #3  
Old 07-24-18, 05:36 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 53,654
Received 421 Votes on 394 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

It sounds like you are using the timer in place of the 2) three way switches. That's do-able.
With your two switches..... there will be power at only one end and the load to the lights at the other end.
You will need to identify which is the hot end. The wire that was originally on a common screw would be hot.
Using the three wires between the switches.... you can move hot/neutral to where it's needed.
 
  #4  
Old 07-30-18, 03:32 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: usa
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
There was no obvious neutral. I "borrowed" one from a bulk terminal in the back of the multi switch box, and after fiddling some more, it now works.
Many Many thanks. The neutral was the key.
Peter
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: