LED strips, many in parallel, needed current?

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-10-18, 05:39 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: usa
Posts: 4
Talking LED strips, many in parallel, needed current?

Hello, I am building a LED UV light box for exposing alternative photographic prints.
I have 8 rolls of UV LED lights, type 3528, rated at 2A, 24W PER ROLL.
I have cut each roll into 8 - 2' strips.
62 strips are placed side-by-side to form an area 24" x 20".
All strips are soldered (24 ga.) in parallel to common + and - (14 ga.) wires.
Am I right in assuming that each 2' strip will need .25A and 3W?
Am I right in thinking that 8 rolls will need 16A and 192W?
I have it all done and powered with just one 5A, 24W AC/DC power source.
Is this under-powered? Will it burn out the LEDs fast?
How best should I power this array?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-10-18, 09:41 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 45,592
Welcome to the forums.

Am I right in thinking that 8 rolls will need 16A and 192W?
Yes..... you are correct.

I'm actually surprised they're operating satisfactorily on that undersized power supply.
You need a larger power supply. I would recommend at least a 20A power supply.
As you run a power supply close to its maximum rating.... it runs hot.

LETOUR-Converter-250Watts-Adapter-Lighting/
 
  #3  
Old 08-10-18, 10:12 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: usa
Posts: 4
Can I use 2 - 8A, 96W power units to each half... if I cut the array in half?
Also, is it irrelevant that the strips are now 2' long and all wired in parallel?
 

Last edited by Phantomxxx7; 08-10-18 at 10:20 AM. Reason: addition
  #4  
Old 08-10-18, 10:20 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 45,592
You can but like I mentioned...... depending on how long you run the LED's the power supplies may run hot.
 
  #5  
Old 08-10-18, 10:31 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: usa
Posts: 4
Thanks so much for your help!
Estimated run time is under 5 mins.
I think I may return what I have and get the power unit you suggested.
Wish I was more well-informed, sooner.
OK to wire it to the ends of the main leads?
 
  #6  
Old 08-10-18, 10:41 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 45,592
That brief of a use should be no problem.

If you get the larger supply it will connect directly to the main LED leads.
 
  #7  
Old 08-10-18, 11:08 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: usa
Posts: 4
Thanks again ... so much PJmax
 
  #8  
Old 08-11-18, 05:55 AM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: usa
Posts: 633
You don't mention the power supply (PS) voltage. For a 16 foot strip rated at 2A, 24W, the require voltage is 12 vdc. Cutting the strips into eight 2 foot sections and connecting the 8 strips in electrical parallel will change the required PS voltage to be 12/8 or 1.5 vdc at the same power. PS current remains 2A. Connecting the 2 foot strips in any other electrical combination could change the voltage or current (or both) PS requirements Good luck.
 
  #9  
Old 08-11-18, 08:11 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 45,592
LED strips don't work like that. The strips are setup in a repetitive pattern. The required voltage stays constant. The current changes based on quantity.
 
  #10  
Old 08-11-18, 03:30 PM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: usa
Posts: 633
Thanks PJmax for the correction. Incorrectly assumed original strip LEDs were in series.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes