LED strips, many in parallel, needed current?

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-10-18, 06:39 AM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: usa
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Talking LED strips, many in parallel, needed current?

Hello, I am building a LED UV light box for exposing alternative photographic prints.
I have 8 rolls of UV LED lights, type 3528, rated at 2A, 24W PER ROLL.
I have cut each roll into 8 - 2' strips.
62 strips are placed side-by-side to form an area 24" x 20".
All strips are soldered (24 ga.) in parallel to common + and - (14 ga.) wires.
Am I right in assuming that each 2' strip will need .25A and 3W?
Am I right in thinking that 8 rolls will need 16A and 192W?
I have it all done and powered with just one 5A, 24W AC/DC power source.
Is this under-powered? Will it burn out the LEDs fast?
How best should I power this array?
 
  #2  
Old 08-10-18, 10:41 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,827
Received 1,330 Votes on 1,229 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

Am I right in thinking that 8 rolls will need 16A and 192W?
Yes..... you are correct.

I'm actually surprised they're operating satisfactorily on that undersized power supply.
You need a larger power supply. I would recommend at least a 20A power supply.
As you run a power supply close to its maximum rating.... it runs hot.

LETOUR-Converter-250Watts-Adapter-Lighting/
 
  #3  
Old 08-10-18, 11:12 AM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: usa
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Can I use 2 - 8A, 96W power units to each half... if I cut the array in half?
Also, is it irrelevant that the strips are now 2' long and all wired in parallel?
 

Last edited by Phantomxxx7; 08-10-18 at 11:20 AM. Reason: addition
  #4  
Old 08-10-18, 11:20 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,827
Received 1,330 Votes on 1,229 Posts
You can but like I mentioned...... depending on how long you run the LED's the power supplies may run hot.
 
  #5  
Old 08-10-18, 11:31 AM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: usa
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks so much for your help!
Estimated run time is under 5 mins.
I think I may return what I have and get the power unit you suggested.
Wish I was more well-informed, sooner.
OK to wire it to the ends of the main leads?
 
  #6  
Old 08-10-18, 11:41 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,827
Received 1,330 Votes on 1,229 Posts
That brief of a use should be no problem.

If you get the larger supply it will connect directly to the main LED leads.
 
  #7  
Old 08-10-18, 12:08 PM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: usa
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks again ... so much PJmax
 
  #8  
Old 08-11-18, 06:55 AM
B
Member
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Ct.,USA
Posts: 1,907
Received 101 Votes on 88 Posts
You don't mention the power supply (PS) voltage. For a 16 foot strip rated at 2A, 24W, the require voltage is 12 vdc. Cutting the strips into eight 2 foot sections and connecting the 8 strips in electrical parallel will change the required PS voltage to be 12/8 or 1.5 vdc at the same power. PS current remains 2A. Connecting the 2 foot strips in any other electrical combination could change the voltage or current (or both) PS requirements Good luck.
 
  #9  
Old 08-11-18, 09:11 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,827
Received 1,330 Votes on 1,229 Posts
LED strips don't work like that. The strips are setup in a repetitive pattern. The required voltage stays constant. The current changes based on quantity.
 
  #10  
Old 08-11-18, 04:30 PM
B
Member
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Ct.,USA
Posts: 1,907
Received 101 Votes on 88 Posts
Thanks PJmax for the correction. Incorrectly assumed original strip LEDs were in series.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: