Outlets not working - What's this box?


  #1  
Old 08-16-18, 10:10 AM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 774
Received 42 Votes on 40 Posts
Outlets not working - What's this box?

Two outside electrical outlets stopped working. My non-contact tester showed no power at the outlet or the wires. Following the wires to the basement, there was power coming into a junction box (see photo) but no power coming from the box to the wires.

Before I go further on this, I'd appreciate some information on what this box is for. Note that the box has one wire in (bottom left) and three wires out. Two of the wires out go to the non-working outlets and the third wire out has power.

Thanks

Name:  box.jpg
Views: 119
Size:  75.4 KB
 

Last edited by PJmax; 08-16-18 at 07:51 PM. Reason: reoriented/labeled picture
  #2  
Old 08-16-18, 02:42 PM
pugsl's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 9,029
Received 76 Votes on 69 Posts
Without taking cover we can only guess. I would guess it is a junction box where wires were spliced.
 
  #3  
Old 08-16-18, 03:03 PM
W
Member
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 6,801
Received 36 Votes on 33 Posts
Outside receptacles should be protected by a GFCI receptacle in the circuit or a GFCI breaker in the service panel. Look for a tripped device.
 
  #4  
Old 08-16-18, 07:52 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 62,673
Received 1,613 Votes on 1,485 Posts
Since you have power to that 4" square junction box and there are four cables there...... you have a power cable in, two cables to your receptacles and I'm guessing the fourth cable goes to a switch.

We'd need to see the internal wiring to confirm.
 
  #5  
Old 08-17-18, 05:25 AM
A
Member
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 651
Received 43 Votes on 41 Posts
Again, without taking the cover off the junction box we can only guess but I am going to go with what PJMax said.

Power going into the box with one cable, two cables out to receptacles (outdoors) and the 4th cable to a switch (switch loop) so that all the receptacles that are outside can be shut off (no power to them) with the switch.

If it were a tripped GFCI breaker no power would even go to the box and if the receptacles were tripped GFCI power would go to the receptacles at least unless one receptacle is a GFCI protecting another regular receptacle but still would not account for the fact that the two cables in the box do not have power.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: