Question about mounting a switch box.

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-16-18, 12:11 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 443
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Question about mounting a switch box.

Im installing a new light switch. The wiring is already run, and I am familiar with what wiring connections have to be made.
One aspect of installing the box is new to me.
Due to an unusual situation in the framing, I can mount the metal switch box to the wide face of a 2 x 4. The switch box has four holes in the back, and I plan to secure it to the framing by putting screws through those holes. Additionally, it seems like the ground screw will extend past the back of the box. My plan is to drill a small hole in the wood to accommodate the end of the screw.
My question: with that type of mounting be to code, and would there be any problem with drilling a small hole in the wood to accommodate the ground screw?
As always, thanks in advance.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-16-18, 04:29 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 12,965
Received 59 Votes on 52 Posts
My question: with that type of mounting be to code, and would there be any problem with drilling a small hole in the wood to accommodate the ground screw?
Drilling out the wood for the ground screw is fine as is attaching the box through the back holes. Normally I just run a standard drywall screw through the threaded hole (then remove it) to make room for the ground screw in the wood. You just don't want to mess up the threads of the hole so I use fine threaded screw.
 
  #3  
Old 08-16-18, 08:20 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 53,083
Received 372 Votes on 349 Posts
Unless it's some real hard wood.... you don't even need to drill for the ground screw.
 
  #4  
Old 08-17-18, 06:08 AM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Ct.,USA
Posts: 1,213
Received 33 Votes on 28 Posts
Reinstall ground screw from inside to outside instead of outside to inside.
 
  #5  
Old 08-17-18, 07:36 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 443
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Thanks again to all!

(here are the extra characters for length)
 
  #6  
Old 08-18-18, 07:40 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 443
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
As a follow up, the switch went in as described, (I did drill the small hole in the wood for the ground screw) and is working fine. Again, thanks for the info/guidance.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: