Ground and neutral in same bus bar?

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-17-18, 10:13 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ground and neutral in same bus bar?

i purchased a tiny house as an abandoned project, and the electricity was already roughed in at purchase. I'm not an electrician, but all the work on the house seems pretty sound from my research. All the wiring is 12/2, with a an RV inlet (30 amp, 125 v). The panel confuses me, as it has both the ground and neutral on a single bus bar. The breaker is a square D 15 amp tandem, with only a single bus bar. Does this look correct?
 

Last edited by Twill; 08-17-18 at 10:58 AM.
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-17-18, 10:32 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 53,203
Received 378 Votes on 355 Posts
Does this look correct?
No.....most of it is incorrect and dangerous.

Right now..... the ground is going to nowhere. It's connected to one of the breaker bus bars.
Neutral and ground wires are only connected together at main panel.
Missing connector on cable.
Should have had a separate ground bar attached to metal panel .
One circuit splitting to two circuits...... not terribly effective.

If this is representative of your wiring in your house..... you're in trouble.
 
  #3  
Old 08-17-18, 01:01 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,944
Received 42 Votes on 40 Posts
To what Pete said add on you have a 30A inlet with 20A wire (overloaded); and for some reason a surface mounted panel on a flush framed wall.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: