Doorbell wiring


  #1  
Old 08-18-18, 11:17 AM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Doorbell wiring

I'm installing a ‘Ring video doorbell’ I’ve already replaced the transformer to the correct unit. Now I come to the chime unit and I’m being told to loosen the ‘front’ and ‘transformer’ wires. The problem is that my doorbell chime has 4 wires, not 3, and they’re labeled 0,1,2,3 not front, back, transformer. I’ve used my multi-meter and got power when I touch the white and red but also when I touch the white and black. I don’t know much about electrical, nor do I like it. But I’m trying to finish this project instead of calling an electrician.
 
Attached Images  
  #2  
Old 08-18-18, 02:35 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 62,726
Received 1,618 Votes on 1,490 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

That is an electronic chime which means when you push the button.... the chime starts and keeps going until it finishes. It requires always live power or batteries.

Did just the front operate the chime ?
You can remove all four wires from the unit and use a meter to identify the transformer lines. When doing this test make sure the doorbell button is disconnected.
 
  #3  
Old 08-18-18, 06:49 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It is operational on both the front and the back.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: