New electric service

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-19-18, 09:18 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: United States
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Smile New electric service

Hello,

I am adding new service to a property and the electric company is installing a 320 amp meter (Needs lever disconnect and they said they have no specific meter requirements other then that). My question based on research:

That this is the maximum continuous load for the box.
Based on that I should get a 400 amp main rated for a 320 amp meter socket (320/400A)??? I want a combination unit because we are running directly off this to multiple locations when we build.

That is were I am confused because they do sell 320 amp main sockets as well but their are very few combination 320A units.

A 200A box is rated for 160A but a 400A is rated for 320A??

Any help would be appreciated.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-19-18, 09:36 AM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 12,967
Received 59 Votes on 52 Posts
Off of the 320 amp meter socket you can install a single 400 amp panel, two 200 amp panels, or a combination that equals 400 amps as long as there are 6 or less main disconnects. It might be more difficult to find a combo unit (panel and meter socket) so you may be better off getting a separate panel(s).
 

Last edited by Tolyn Ironhand; 08-19-18 at 01:00 PM.
  #3  
Old 08-19-18, 10:52 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,948
Received 32 Votes on 27 Posts
I.would set two 200S vs one 400 based on cost.
 
  #4  
Old 08-19-18, 11:38 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 10,059
Received 26 Votes on 20 Posts
(Needs lever disconnect and they said they have no specific meter requirements other then that)

You may want to verify this, but I suspect they want "Lever Bypass" and not Lever Disconnect.
 
  #5  
Old 08-20-18, 03:29 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: United States
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for your response! I talked with 3 different electricians and had 3 different answers. The Siemens unit below takes the class 320 lever bypass meter socket. Do you think this is correct?

The MM0404L1400RLM comes with a class 320 lever bypass meter socket and provisions for 2 main breakers up to 200 Amp each. The breakers are not included. This panel allows the user to feed up to two 200 Amp rated load centers. The panel will accept the QNR (150, 175, or 200 Amp) and QP type double pole breakers (60, 70, 80, 90, 100, or 125 Amp). The enclosure is rated NEMA Type 3R (outdoor use), confirms to UL standard 50 and is fabricated using Galvanized steel with a baked on polyester powder coating. The panel is rated for overhead or underground feed applications. For overhead feed, use the Electric enter "HD" class of hubs (EC56854, EC56855, EC56856, EC56857, or EC56858).
 
  #6  
Old 08-20-18, 11:22 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 53,245
Received 380 Votes on 357 Posts
Yes that will work. Seems a little pricey for no breakers included.
Siemens-MM0404L1400SDL-Combination-Bypass-Socket/dp/B013WIN3FA
 
  #7  
Old 08-20-18, 02:27 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: United States
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
To make matters more interesting I just spoke with the Electric company (The person who came out to do the inspection for new service); He told me that there is no restriction on the number of spaces in the box as long as it is a class 320 with lever bypass.
So for the same price I can get this one (Which includes a main breaker):

Siemens MC0816B1400RLTM

The MC0816B1400RLTM comes with a class 320 lever bypass meter socket. The load center portion is provided with one 200A main breaker and an 8 space/16 circuit interior with feed thru lugs. There is also a provision for an additional main breaker rated up to 200 Amps. The construction allows for the 8/16 circuits inside the panel to feed exterior loads while also providing the ability to feed up to 2 more load centers from this panel. The 2nd main breaker provision will accept the QNR type (150, 175, or 200 Amp) and QP type double pole breakers (60, 70, 80, 90, 100, or 125 Amp). The enclosure is rated NEMA Type 3R (outdoor use), confirms to UL standard 50 and is fabricated using Galvanized steel with a baked on polyester powder coating. The panel is rated for overhead or underground feed applications. For overhead feed, use the Electric enter "HD" class of hubs (EC56854, EC56855, EC56856, EC56857, or EC56858).

Last thoughts?

I appreciate everyone's help!
 
  #8  
Old 08-20-18, 02:53 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,944
Received 42 Votes on 40 Posts
That's a good cabinet. Provides a lot of flexibility for future reconfiguration if needed.

Residential equipment is always 320A continuous, 400A max (or 160/200). You'll hear both ratings depending on who you're talking to.
 
  #9  
Old 08-21-18, 11:08 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 10,059
Received 26 Votes on 20 Posts
I'd check Milbank before buying anything. I seem to remember they have a 320 socket that comes with two 200 amp breakers installed at the factory that was reasonably priced.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: