Little help wiring an old sewing machine plug, please?

Old 09-05-18, 11:56 AM
R
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question Little help wiring an old sewing machine plug, please?

Hello, I would need a little help with an electrical issue and I think the users of this forum may well be the right people to give me a hand.

I had this old "Hanseatic" sewing machine that one day have a short circuit: it made a spark that scorched the plug a little and stopped. I took the plug appart and saw that the wires were loose and had apparently made contact, so all I needed was to get them out, clean a little ash, and put them back in place more firmly... but, fool of me, I lost the paper where I wrote the order in wich the wires are connected, and I have zero knowledge in electricity, so I'll describe the plug (picture ahead) and wires, see if someone can help me out.

Is the plug that connects to the sewing machine from both the control pedal and the wall socket, so I have six wires (three from each: black red and green) and the plug have four pins, as the picture show, in wich I can read, left to wright and top to bottom: "N", "E", "P" and "RP". But that letters... I'm not sure, but maybe are from german words. So... any ideas?

Thanks for your time

Attached Images  
Old 09-05-18, 12:21 PM
I
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 44 Votes on 42 Posts
I think we need some more information as there are 6 wires and only 4 terminals pictured. Can you show us the whole cord assembly including the wall plug, pedal and machine?

I see it is a German machine, however is it made for use on the European electrical system or North American electrical system?

Old 09-05-18, 06:03 PM
R
Thanks for answering. The machine is made for european system, and the six wires were in those four pins, but I'll show you the whole assembly.