How to separate light and fan

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-16-18, 01:10 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 46
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
How to separate light and fan

I have a 1989 built home where all the bathrooms have one set of wiring going from the fan to the light to the switch.

How do I wire it up so I can use a dual switch and control each independently?
which gauge should I use?
Can I run it through the existing EMT? I am in IL which requires EMT for residential electrical.

Thanks
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-16-18, 01:25 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,941
Received 30 Votes on 26 Posts
You would need to add a switched hot from the switch to whatever item you want independent control.of. Use the same gauge as already installed. The old switched hot would be removed.
 
  #3  
Old 09-16-18, 01:33 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 53,047
Received 370 Votes on 347 Posts
The old switched hot would be removed.
Why would that be ? You'd need two switched hots now.
 
  #4  
Old 09-16-18, 03:00 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: United States
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You need to run another 2-conductor wire (black, white, gnd) from the switch to the fan/light. Or, you could replace the entire run from the switch to the fan/light with a 3-conductor wire (black, red, white, gnd) and use black for one load and red for the other.

And personally, I don't trust other people's wiring, so I would check the breaker that controls the current fan/light and make the wire match that. 15A breaker = 14 gauge wire, 20A breaker = 12 g wire
 
  #5  
Old 09-16-18, 04:33 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 53,047
Received 370 Votes on 347 Posts
Need to read the posts. This is a conduit system.
 
  #6  
Old 09-16-18, 04:51 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 1,215
Received 17 Votes on 16 Posts
Having EMT makes things much easier.
Just run one more wire. You will need RED 14 AWG THHN assuming it is 15A circuit (which most residential lighting circuits are).

You will need a wire fishing tape, but if you don't have one, just use one of the existing wire and a pull cable and tape 2 wires to it and pull.

Use double switch if existing junction box is a single gang box.
 
  #7  
Old 09-16-18, 07:20 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,941
Received 30 Votes on 26 Posts
The new switched not does not need to be red, but it would help to keep it separate from the existing switch wiring.

The existing would be removed since it would be replaced by the new switched hot.

You might be able to push the new wire without fishing it in.
 
  #8  
Old 09-16-18, 07:45 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 53,047
Received 370 Votes on 347 Posts
I'm still not following. How can you remove the existing switch line and add one new switch line in ?
Aren't two switched lines needed here ?
 
  #9  
Old 09-16-18, 08:18 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,941
Received 30 Votes on 26 Posts
The existing switched hot goes from Sw to light to fan. The switched hot between the light and fan will be replaced by one from the switch to the fan bypassing the light.
 
  #10  
Old 09-30-18, 03:41 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 46
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Guys thanks for the help. I can keep the neutral for the light and fan together? or do i need to add another white neutral wire so each device has a switched hot and neutral going to the switch box?
I just add the new red switched hot from the fan to the switch box.

top button = (light blue) switched hot from light on wall.
bottom button = (new red) switched hot from fan.

That will work right?
 

Last edited by enrststavro1; 09-30-18 at 03:59 PM.
  #11  
Old 09-30-18, 04:35 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 53,047
Received 370 Votes on 347 Posts
Neutrals can be shared. You only need to run one new piece of wire for the new switch.
 
  #12  
Old 10-01-18, 02:00 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 46
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
All, thanks for the help. I got all 3 bathrooms completed and working properly.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: