Wirenuts and Electrical Boxes Issue

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-24-18, 11:06 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 266
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Wirenuts and Electrical Boxes Issue

I'm installing some smart dimmers in the house and 2 Lutron USB in-wall outlets.

1) One outlet has 6 Neutral wires in it.
How should I tie all those Neutrals together?
I've managed to put all 6 in a red wirenuts but obviously I believe it's rated for 4 #12
If I do 3+3 with 2 wirenuts the box is way to small

What are my options?

2) Lutron USB in-wall USB charger just won'r fit in a single metal electrical box. I thought dimensions were a standard across the board. There's 2 little notches on the Lutron that makes it impossible to fit in width wise unless I push really really hard on it which I haven't tried since I'm afraid I will wedge the outlet in the box for good.
Same issue with #1 Too much wires at the back to make it fit it seems.

Is it possible to change a metal box to a deep plastic one or metal one when everything is already installed?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-24-18, 11:19 AM
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 20,812
Received 194 Votes on 180 Posts
They make larger wire nuts intended for more or larger wires. And, there are different sizes of boxes. I like the deeper/larger ones because the extra room makes it much easier to get everything tucked back into place without damaging anything or causing a short.

Removing your metal box may require some sawing or chiseling to remove depending on how it's attached. Once it's out you can screw through the side of a new box to mount it to the stud or there are old work boxes that have little tabs that fold out and mount the box to the sheetrock.
 
  #3  
Old 09-24-18, 11:49 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 266
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I thought red was the biggest wirenuts?
 
  #4  
Old 09-24-18, 12:46 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
No, there are blue and gray wire nuts.
 
  #5  
Old 09-24-18, 01:03 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 266
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Blue and gray are for smaller size



I go with the bottom row!!!!
 
  #6  
Old 09-24-18, 01:51 PM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 6,549
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
Look for individual packs of wire nuts of one size per pack. That assortment does not have the sizes you need.
 
  #7  
Old 09-24-18, 02:58 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,917
Received 24 Votes on 20 Posts
There are also larger blue and grey wire nuts.The

It sounds.like the boxes are way overfilled. A box with 6 neutrals ? I hope it is at least multigang box.
 
  #8  
Old 09-25-18, 09:42 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 266
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
No kidding! Want to hear the kicker? It's a brand new house!! I should of been on top of things and required deep boxes all over the house. Let's say 50 boxes what would of been the difference in price between a regular metal box and a deep metal box? 75 cents per?
I went to HD and found the big blue ones in small bags.

I also bought some push-in connectors
https://www.google.ca/search?q=push+...w=1958&bih=927

What's the option when you need to put a deep device like a GFCI or smart dimmers in a regular metal box?

I think those push-ins might help if they are against on it's top against the back of the box. Otherwise new house and no option for smart dimmers.
 
  #9  
Old 09-25-18, 02:14 PM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: southeast pennsylvania
Posts: 325
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
There are bigger wire nuts that are actually lugs. They are brass and and you tighten them by tightening the lugs with a wrench. Then you screw on the plastic wire nut.
 
  #10  
Old 09-25-18, 04:39 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 266
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I just found a splice made with electrical tape in one of the electrical boxes. I guess the electrician made it since it's brand new build. Is that up to code?
 
  #11  
Old 09-25-18, 04:52 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 1,196
Received 15 Votes on 14 Posts
I guess the electrician made it since it's brand new build. Is that up to code?
If it is just twisted and taped, no.
If it has some sort of lug or clamp connector, then taped, it is up to code.
If it is soldered then taped, it is up to code, but this is very rare due to extra work required.
 
  #12  
Old 09-25-18, 04:52 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
No, tape is not a substitute for proper connectors.
 
  #13  
Old 09-25-18, 05:40 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 12,933
Received 54 Votes on 47 Posts
I just found a splice made with electrical tape in one of the electrical boxes.
No real electrician would have done this. Did this guy have a license? Also I would almost never use metal boxes unless I was using a metal wiring method.
 
  #14  
Old 09-25-18, 05:58 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,917
Received 24 Votes on 20 Posts
I would like to see pictures.
 
  #15  
Old 09-25-18, 07:29 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 266
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
OK so it's not a splice!!! I spoke with the electrician and he mentioned that the jacket might of got damaged so he might of put some electrical tape to protect the cable.

I though for sure no matter what no e-tape in any electrical boxes?

Yes he is licensed.... apparently.

He also mentioned that nobody uses plastic boxes but rather metal boxes even in new builds.

What's the main difference between plastic and metal besides the Romex casing for grounding etc...?
 
  #16  
Old 09-26-18, 10:04 AM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 3,503
Received 15 Votes on 15 Posts
Plastic boxes are cheaper. Romex type cable without metal conduit is easier to install compared with metal conduit.

Metal parts respectively offer better fire protection if the cause is a wire inside although most cities don't require the protection that good (Chicago, IL, USA does).

For grounding purposes, the proper techniques using Romex cable are just as good as the proper techniques using metal conduit.
 
  #17  
Old 09-26-18, 10:26 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
He also mentioned that nobody uses plastic boxes but rather metal boxes even in new builds.
Almost all new construction uses plastic boxes as does most retrofit work. If he doesn't know that he is in a time warp.
 
  #18  
Old 09-26-18, 12:07 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 3,892
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Electrical tape is fine to use to repair damaged wire insulation, to an extent. Insulation is often damaged by the drywall installers when cutting around the boxes. When the electrician comes back to install the devices, he sees a damaged wire and tapes it to protect it from shorting. The alternative would be to cut a bunch of holes in the new drywall (site supervisor would flip) and pull a new cable, which is often not feasible.
 
  #19  
Old 09-26-18, 04:41 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 266
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
What I would of done is chop and use a pig tail and a wirenut. E-tape is more a temporary fix on an extension cord until you go to the store and buy a new one!!!
 
  #20  
Old 09-26-18, 04:51 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 1,196
Received 15 Votes on 14 Posts
Electric tape is fine if the conductor is not damaged. There is no need to make a pigtail and you don't gain anything doing that.
If don't like electric tape, heat shrink tubing can be used as well.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: