Ground cable taped?

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-26-18, 03:42 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Canada, Quebec
Posts: 1,480
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ground cable taped?

This appears to be the ground cable from the panel. It's just twisted and tried. Is that ok?
 
Attached Images  
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-26-18, 05:47 AM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 3,441
Upvotes: 0
Received 9 Votes on 9 Posts
Just twisting and/or taping two wires together is not sufficient to make a connection. A wire nut or crimp or screw terminal strip is needed.

Ground wire splices and grounded parts do not need tape or other material as insulation. If there is a soldered joint under the black tape that would also be okay in which case the tape is not really needed.
 
  #3  
Old 09-26-18, 06:57 AM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 6,533
Upvotes: 0
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
Splicing of main ground wire from ground rod to service panel is not allowed.
 
  #4  
Old 09-26-18, 08:29 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Canada, Quebec
Posts: 1,480
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
So the entire length of ground wire from 3rd floor to ground needs to be redone?
 
  #5  
Old 09-26-18, 10:45 AM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 6,533
Upvotes: 0
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
This appears to be the ground cable from the panel
From the panel to where????????????????
 
  #6  
Old 09-26-18, 12:13 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Canada, Quebec
Posts: 1,480
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Goes through the floors down to the crawl space. This splice is right outside the panel...
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes