Outlet question


  #1  
Old 10-03-18, 05:05 AM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 31
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Outlet question

Hi all. I have an air conditioner that uses a 20 amp outlet (6-20p). That a/c has since died and I want to replace it with an A/C that uses a 15 amp outlet (6-15p).

It seems like the 6-15p plug would fit into the outlet. Is that ok and safe to do? Or do I need to replace the outlet. If I do need to replace the out can I just use an adapter I saw they sell? Is that necessary? Thanks!
 
  #2  
Old 10-03-18, 07:46 AM
I
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,942
Received 44 Votes on 42 Posts
If you have a "T" shaped slot on the receptacle, then yes it can accept either 15A or 20A plugs.
 
  #3  
Old 10-03-18, 11:29 AM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 31
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hi Thanks. Yeah my current outlet is

-| -
o

and the plug of the new A/C is

- -
o

Basically the same except for the vertical line. So it's safe to just plug it right in ?
 
  #4  
Old 10-03-18, 11:58 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,581
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Yes, it's safe. And no need to change the breaker.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: