Outlet question

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-03-18, 06:05 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 27
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Outlet question

Hi all. I have an air conditioner that uses a 20 amp outlet (6-20p). That a/c has since died and I want to replace it with an A/C that uses a 15 amp outlet (6-15p).

It seems like the 6-15p plug would fit into the outlet. Is that ok and safe to do? Or do I need to replace the outlet. If I do need to replace the out can I just use an adapter I saw they sell? Is that necessary? Thanks!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-03-18, 08:46 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,944
Received 42 Votes on 40 Posts
If you have a "T" shaped slot on the receptacle, then yes it can accept either 15A or 20A plugs.
 
  #3  
Old 10-03-18, 12:29 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 27
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hi Thanks. Yeah my current outlet is

-| -
o

and the plug of the new A/C is

- -
o

Basically the same except for the vertical line. So it's safe to just plug it right in ?
 
  #4  
Old 10-03-18, 12:58 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Yes, it's safe. And no need to change the breaker.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: