Jacuzzi with no gfci

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-03-18, 04:14 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: usa georgia
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Jacuzzi with no gfci

Hello all, I just purchased a house with a circa 2004 Jacuzzi whirlpool tub. After finding the access hole in the basement ceiling I determined that there is no gfci. The plug/receptacle is 20 amp right next to the motor and connected to the main panel on a dedicated circuit to a 20 amp non gfci breaker. Access is very difficult and I would have to cut a hole in the wall upstairs to change out the outlet or would a gfci breaker be better...cutler hammer. How dangerous is it to leave as is? Codes weren't to stringent back then evidently...help would be appreciated....also my main breaker wouldn't turn off until I yanked it up and down hard about 20 times what's that all about? This house is weird
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-03-18, 05:30 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 1,230
Received 18 Votes on 17 Posts
Installing GFCI breaker is fine. Is it dedicated circuit? If the Jacuzzi has heater, it probably will require a dedicated circuit.
GFCI was required even in 2004. That probably was never inspected.

Worst case scenario without GFCI protection is death by electrocution. Chance of that happening is probably low, but the the consequence can be deadly.

Requiring switching the breaker on/off several times to turn off is not normal. Any water damage?
It will be the best to change it, but if it is the main breaker it won't be easy. You should hire a electrician for this task. Or at least have power company come out and pull the meter (cut power), then put back after you replace the main breaker.
 
  #3  
Old 10-03-18, 06:36 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 53,230
Received 380 Votes on 357 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

You wouldn't by chance have a dead front GFI in the bathroom..... would you ?
That's how I wired most of my spa installs.

Name:  df.jpg
Views: 43
Size:  4.0 KB
 
  #4  
Old 10-03-18, 07:17 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 12,967
Received 59 Votes on 52 Posts
You wouldn't by chance have a dead front GFI in the bathroom..... would you ?
The dead front GFCI might also be in a nearby closet.

If not, A GFCI breaker is the best option as it also would comply with the readily accessible NEC requirement for GFCI devices.
 
  #5  
Old 10-03-18, 07:52 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: usa georgia
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
No heater and no gfci anywhere i can find that stops the pump...thanx much for the info
 
  #6  
Old 10-03-18, 07:56 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: usa georgia
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I have looked and tried all the gfis to stop the pump...no joy thanx for helping looks like i should call an electrician
 
  #7  
Old 10-03-18, 07:59 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: usa georgia
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
you folks are the bomb...thanks a lot there is a number of hokey crap in the house and some is over my head/skill level...kudos
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: