20 amp Blank GFI on 15 amp Circuit

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-09-18, 09:45 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: United States
Posts: 2
20 amp Blank GFI on 15 amp Circuit

We are installing an American Standard 2425 jetted tup and running two 15 amp circuits as per instructions (pump and heater), and running both through GFIs before extending behind the tub to a split outlet. One of the GFI’s will be a plug (a 15amp GFI outlet).

The other I have a BLANK face GFI, but there appears to be NO 15 amp blank face GFI’s made. The one I have is 2 vertical plugs, not a T receptacle(so 15 amp receptacles), but it has 20 amp pass through.

SO…question…because its on a 15amp breaker, it will only pass through 15amps to the end run plug, yes? Otherwise, I am guessing I would have to use another 15amp GFI receptacle? THANKS!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-09-18, 11:15 AM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 3,429
As long as the blank face GFI is rated higher than the breaker (which it is) you're fine. In other words the GFI is rated for 20A, but will never see more than 15A because the main breaker is 15A. DO NOT increase the size of the breaker in the panel.
 
  #3  
Old 10-09-18, 11:18 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,354
SO…question…because its on a 15amp breaker, it will only pass through 15amps to the end run plug,

The amount of current is limited by the 15 amp breaker. The dead front GFCI device only provides GFCI protection so I see no problem using a 20 amp dead front device on a 15 amp circuit. I don't remember this question ever coming up in all my years and this is my opinion. I am interested if others have a different opinion.
 
  #4  
Old 10-09-18, 01:33 PM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: United States, Virginia
Posts: 889
NEC doesn't allow a 20A outlet on a 15A circuit. You can use 15A outlets on 20A circuit if multiple/ duplex.
 
  #5  
Old 10-09-18, 07:20 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,989
But a dead face GFCI isn't a receptacle.
 
  #6  
Old 10-09-18, 07:45 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 885
I doubt 15A dead face GFCI even exists. Even regular duplex GFCI receptacles are actually rated for 20A feed through. Dead face GFCIs are pretty much the same as duplex GFCI receptacles except they don't have slots for a plug.
Regular 15A receptacles are also rated for 20A feed through. Only difference between 15A and 20A is that 20A receptacle allows plugging 20A plug. Internals are practically same.

GFCI does not trip on over current, but at ground fault. Don't see any reason to make 15A model when 20A can cover 15A.
 
  #7  
Old 10-10-18, 06:46 AM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: United States, Virginia
Posts: 889
Duh.. I wasn't thinking of a blank front GFCI. Had outlet on the brain.
 
  #8  
Old 10-10-18, 09:07 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: United States
Posts: 2
Yes this is what was stumping me on this (and of course leave it to me to come up with something "new")! There is surprisingly little info on this scenario, which seems to indicate its not a problem and the 20a blank face is used in this scenario (esp considering they don't make a 15a from everything that I can find).
 
  #9  
Old 10-10-18, 05:07 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 3,046
Devices on a 15 amp circuit must reject a 20 amp plug and a blank face ground fault circuit interrupter satisfies that requirement.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes