Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Electrical, AC & DC. Electronic Equipment and Computers > Electrical - AC & DC
Reload this Page >

Restoring old doorbell and installing transformer.. need advice

Restoring old doorbell and installing transformer.. need advice

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-09-18, 05:03 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 88
Restoring old doorbell and installing transformer.. need advice

Hi all, I have an old NuTone Door chime that looks very similar to the one in this link.
http://cbvfd.org/wp-content/uploads/...mes-canada.jpg

I'm going to be purchasing a Transformer and running wire to it and the front, rear door but am uncertain on a few things.

- Would this chime likely run off 24v 20a?
- Most transformers seem that they are intended to be surface mounted, would I mount one on a stud in my unfinished basement near a J-Box and then run romex from the J-Box to it? (i'm not fond of the idea of leaving exposed contacts)
 

Last edited by kiyolaka; 10-09-18 at 06:33 PM. Reason: corrected a to va
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-09-18, 05:37 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 885
Some runs off 16V and some runs off 24V.
Does your bell have any rating?
It probably will work fine on both since those door bells are just made with solenoids.

You mean 20VAC not 20A. Right?
20A transformer will big and heavy (unless it is a switching power supply) and definitely not for a doorbell.


Most door bell transformers are meant to be mounted on knockout of a metal junction box. It is mounted outside.
Transformers should not be mounted inside junction box because it can overheat. Also, low voltage and high voltage wiring should not be in a same junction box.

Exposed low voltage terminals are safe to touch and does not need to be covered.
If you like to hide them as much as possible, there are plug type transformers.

https://www.amazon.com/Class-II-Tran.../dp/B004VMVDTA

You hold it down to bottom receptacle of a duplex receptacle using screw.
 
  #3  
Old 10-09-18, 05:45 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 45,558
A 16v 20va transformer is really what you want.
 
  #4  
Old 10-09-18, 06:42 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 88
I can't find any sort of rating on the doorbell itself, There WAS a transformer downstairs but it got gutted during a recent remodel as it wasn't wired up to the low voltage side.

The Transformer was previously mounted to the outside of a junction box in an unfinished basement and looked kind of like this one. https://www.amazon.com/Honeywell-AT1...l++transformer

From the basement there was a cable that was ran to the chime upstairs and then one to the rear porch. Is this configuration fairly normal?
 
  #5  
Old 10-09-18, 07:12 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 885
Yes. That is normal and how they are meant to be wired.
 
  #6  
Old 10-09-18, 07:41 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 88
What's a good way to determine whether my chime needs 16 or 24v?
 
  #7  
Old 10-09-18, 07:48 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 885
I'm pretty sure it will work on both, but 16V is probably safer bet since it is lower voltage and most door bells call for 16V.
 
  #8  
Old 10-10-18, 07:35 AM
Member
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,017
In the old days 24vac was only for HVAC. 8 to 16 vac was for door chimes.
 
  #9  
Old 10-10-18, 01:08 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 88
Ended up ordering this one as it's a name brand, has a good ampacity and can be thread mounted on the J-Box cover. https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1 Just to confirm though, these wires are tinned CU, NOT AL right? Will be using some 18GA jacketed thermostat wire to the bell and chime.
 
  #10  
Old 10-10-18, 04:52 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 885
these wires are tinned CU, NOT AL right?
Yes.
Some Chinese off brands may use copper clad aluminum, but rare. NuTone will for copper for sure.

You can mount it on junction box cover with knock out hole or just mount on the side of junction box.
 
  #11  
Old 10-10-18, 06:36 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 88
I'm definately going to use the knockout hole as I don't like exposed AC wiring when I can help it.

I'll then be running 18-2 thermostat wire to the doorbell and chime. I plan to butt splice the wiring, are there any specific rules for enclosing low voltage splices?
 
  #12  
Old 10-10-18, 09:06 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 885
are there any specific rules for enclosing low voltage splices?
Low voltage splices don't require any enclosures. Just use a small blue or gray wirenuts.
You could crimp the splices as well, but there is no need for that and solid wires don't crimp well. Wirenuts will make better splice than other crimp splices unless you have a proper tool for crimping.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes