Adding an outlet to my furnace

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-15-18, 10:03 AM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Adding an outlet to my furnace

Hey everyone,
I've got a question on adding a outlet for my condensate pump to run off of. I want to attach a gfci to the side of my furnace, but run it off of the nearby basement outlet circuit. In this way it would preserve the furnace itself as the only thing on its breaker. Is there any problem with attaching an outlet on another circuit directly to the furnace, and since its not on the furnace circuit, could it also legally be used as a general purpose outlet?
 
  #2  
Old 10-15-18, 01:21 PM
I
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,943
Received 44 Votes on 42 Posts
Your plan is OK as described. It would also be OK to power the condensate pump from the furnace circuit as the pump is part of the "HVAC system".
 
  #3  
Old 10-16-18, 11:24 AM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Awesome, thanks for the reply.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: