How to attach drip loop service entry

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-21-18, 12:38 AM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: United States
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
How to attach drip loop service entry

Hello Everyone

We are changing the service entry cable and meter socket in our house in WNY. I had the electric company disconnect the electric on Friday and they ended up disconnecting it at the pole.

So the question is that if we have to attach our SE cable to theirs which is coming from the ploe, how do we do this.

thanks
 
  #2  
Old 10-21-18, 05:46 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,223
Received 104 Votes on 90 Posts
Here the power.company used crimp sleeves. Contractors do not make the connections.
 
  #3  
Old 10-21-18, 05:52 AM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 4,963
Received 88 Votes on 83 Posts
Hi, POCO usually makes that termination,at least here they do, I would check with them .
Geo
 
  #4  
Old 10-21-18, 10:09 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 10,758
Received 97 Votes on 87 Posts
how do we do this.
I would use split bolts and tape, but since the power company must come back anyway, I'd have them do it. Here a permit and inspection would also be required and the power company will not reconnect till they have the wiring approval.
 
  #5  
Old 10-22-18, 12:13 AM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: United States
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by CasualJoe View Post
I would use split bolts and tape, but since the power company must come back anyway, I'd have them do it. Here a permit and inspection would also be required and the power company will not reconnect till they have the wiring approval.
Hello

A permit is most definitely required here as well and they won't reconnect until the inspector passes it. Apart from the risk of electrocution and the risk of falling, the work is pretty simple.

I cut those three wires before the connection. It was a bit of a task up in the air but got it done with a little bit of effort.

Yup, will let the power company deal with it. If you look at this spec page from BPU https://imgur.com/a/JG84ryX on the one without the mast it says 'customer to provide attachment', this lead me to believe we have to attach those cables. But just now I also saw 'company shall furnish and install service drop conductors', so they might do it.
 
  #6  
Old 10-22-18, 08:00 AM
W
Member
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 6,740
Received 22 Votes on 21 Posts
'customer to provide attachment',
If this a service drop replacement, the attachment point should already be installed unless you have removed it.
 
  #7  
Old 10-22-18, 06:39 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 10,758
Received 97 Votes on 87 Posts
it says 'customer to provide attachment', this lead me to believe we have to attach those cables.

"Attachment" in your case refers to the insulator the service drop attaches to on the house, sometimes called a "House Knob".
 
  #8  
Old 10-23-18, 02:01 PM
I
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,943
Received 44 Votes on 42 Posts
Now would be a good time by the way to make sure your attachment insulator is securely fastened to the exterior wall framing (not just siding, sheathing or fascia board), and that there's no rot around it. Back in the old days they sometimes just screwed them in where ever, and sometimes they rot out or corrode from the elements. Around me they now require either stainless or heavy galvanized lag bolts into framing for the attachment point. POCO won't reattach if the insulator isn't solid. Better to verify now than find out during an ice storm.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: