Fishing electrical wire through hole in stud


  #1  
Old 10-21-18, 10:04 AM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Fishing electrical wire through hole in stud

I'm adding a new base cabinet in my kitchen. The electrical outlet is a few inches too far to the left and would be covered up by the cabinet. I just need to relocate it to the other side of the stud. Is it kosher to just drill a hole in that stud a few inches higher, since we'd be losing a few inches slack in the cord, then reposition everything there?
 
  #2  
Old 10-21-18, 10:11 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 62,195
Received 1,531 Votes on 1,414 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

Yes.... you can raise a wall receptacle up to pick up slack in the cable.
 
  #3  
Old 10-21-18, 10:13 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,581
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Yes, receptacles have no particular height requirement.

P.S. That isn't a cord. It is a cable.
 
  #4  
Old 10-21-18, 10:53 AM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks so much for the quick reply. So there isn't anything I need to do to protect the cable, like inserting a sleeve for it to go through? I'm imagining some scenario where being fished horizontally through a hole in the wood could wear on the cable over time, say if the building was settling. Are there conventions about how much slack to leave to offset that possibility?
 
  #5  
Old 10-21-18, 11:16 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,581
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Sleaves are not needed for wood studs. No slack os generally requited but you need 6-8" of wire in the box.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: