Putting Romex in conduit

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-01-18, 09:53 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2015
Location: u.s.
Posts: 85
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Putting Romex in conduit

Is electrical cable allowed in conduit inside my house? I brought two new circuits into my house and rather than fish them inside a closet wall to get them to where I want them, I would prefer putting them in conduit. 12/2 wiring with a very short run inside a closet. They will be feeding wall heaters for adjacent rooms. Is Romex allowed in any type of conduit?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-01-18, 10:22 PM
S
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: WI/MN
Posts: 19,584
Received 94 Votes on 83 Posts
You can't run Romex outside, how is the feed entering the house? Sounds like THHN/THWN would be a better choice.
 
  #3  
Old 11-01-18, 10:55 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2015
Location: u.s.
Posts: 85
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
UF-B cable outside, I fed it through conduit from where it was buried to where it entered the house.
It was a continuous feed into the house from outside---no splicing where it entered. Is that allowed or is a junction box required where I enter the house? I ran it through floor joists to a closet area under a staircase. There is no sheetrock covering the walls. I figure my option is to run it to the spot I need it and put sheetrock in or run it in some conduit. Although this is UF-B cable I might need to add a junction box and splice some Romex to it. That's why I asked about Romex.
 
  #4  
Old 11-01-18, 11:21 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,717
Received 1,180 Votes on 1,093 Posts
NM-b (romex) is allowed in conduit...... inside the house. NM-b cannot be used outside.
UF-b is allowed in conduit and is allowed inside and outside so you are ok there.
 
  #5  
Old 11-02-18, 10:20 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 10,700
Received 92 Votes on 82 Posts
I brought two new circuits into my house

Where is the service panel located? Is it on the outside wall of the house or on another building?
 
  #6  
Old 11-02-18, 10:28 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2015
Location: u.s.
Posts: 85
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The main panel is on the outside wall of my house. I ran UF-b cable underground to several locations where I entered through side of the house. It would be easier for me to put the cable in conduit inside. I've been looking at conduit fill for PVC and it all seems to apply to conductor size and not the cable so I don't really know what size conduit I should use. From what I could decipher it was 15 conductors of size 12 wire in a 3/4 inch PVC conduit.. But can I put 12/2 cable in 3/4 inch PVC conduit? Maybe I should ask that in a new thread---we'll see.
 
  #7  
Old 11-03-18, 06:39 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,174
Received 92 Votes on 79 Posts
Cable.in conduit are.based on the widest dimension.
 
  #8  
Old 11-03-18, 06:34 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,717
Received 1,180 Votes on 1,093 Posts
You can't compare loose conductors to cable. You won't find a chart on cable fill because it's usually not done. Sleeving it a short run is popular but trying to pull it thru conduit can be a downright nuisance.

A single 12-2 in 3/4" conduit is fine. Two cables may be tight.
 
  #9  
Old 11-03-18, 07:47 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2015
Location: u.s.
Posts: 85
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It's just one 12/2 cable in the 3/4 inch PVC. Plenty of room and it's a short run in a closet.
 
  #10  
Old 11-03-18, 08:27 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,717
Received 1,180 Votes on 1,093 Posts
Sounds like you're all set to wire.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: