Wiring a GFCI

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-08-18, 11:01 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: canada
Posts: 3
Wiring a GFCI

Hello:
I am trying to install a Decora 15 Amp Tamper-Resistant Slim GFCI Receptacle in the kitchen and would like some advice on how to do it.
The existing duplex outlet box has two (2) 3-wire (red blab white) wires coming into it.
The 2 red wires are ganged together with a black pigtail wire that is run to the top brass screw on the duplex.
The 2 black wires are ganged together with a black pigtail wire that is run to the bottom brass screw on the duplex.
The 2 white wires are run individually to the top and bottom aluminum screws on the duplex.
Both the red and black wires are hot.
Additionally the bridge between the top and bottom brass screws is broken.
The bridge between the top and bottom aluminum screws in intact.
I would like to know why the existing duplex is wired that way and how to replace it with the GFCI receptacle.
Thank you for your assistance.
 
Attached Images  
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-08-18, 01:02 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,065
Additionally the bridge between the top and bottom brass screws is broken
Are there two breakers controlling power?
 
  #3  
Old 11-08-18, 02:01 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 3,533
This is often done to make the top half of the outlet switched while the bottom half the receptacle has constant power. However, this is not something you'd typically do in a kitchen. I would guess that the top half of the receptacle (and other receptacles in the kitchen) are on one circuit and the bottom half of the receptacles in your kitchen are on another circuit (I believe this is what Ray is getting at). I'm thinking this is more likely than being a switched outlet.
 
  #4  
Old 11-08-18, 05:18 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 46,274
Definitely two circuits there. Both white wires go on the GFI receptacle BUT only the red or black wire is used. Since you have two circuits there...... you need to identify what receptacles are on each circuit. You want to put that new GFI receptacle on ONLY the black or red circuit..... depending what else is on it.

You may find a second countertop receptacle set up the same way. One GFI receptacle could be on black and another on red.

Your other choice is to keep the split receptacle just as it was and install a 2Pole GFI circuit breaker. This would allow both circuits to still be accessible at that location.
 
  #5  
Old 11-08-18, 09:07 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 5,634
You can't do it. That is a 15 split wired kitchen counter receptacle. One option is to install a double pole GFCI breaker.
if you are in Ontario;
If there are two receptacles on the circuit then you are permitted to put one on the red circuit and the other on the black circuit.

https://www.esasafe.com/assets/files...s/16-28-FL.pdf
 
  #6  
Old 11-09-18, 02:42 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,595
Please.follow Joes advice. The Canadian code differs from the NEC.
 
  #7  
Old 11-09-18, 11:45 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: canada
Posts: 3
No Just one breaker and there is another outlet on the countertop that looses power when that breaker is switched off. Thanks!
 
  #8  
Old 11-09-18, 12:29 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 3,533
No Just one breaker and there is another outlet on the countertop that looses power when that breaker is switched off. Thanks!
Are you saying the top half of the receptacles are off and the bottom halves are still on? If so, there has to be another breaker.
 
  #9  
Old 11-09-18, 04:35 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 5,634
The neutrals(whites) need to be tied together and a pigtail used like the red and black. You can 't use the receptacle as the connection on a MWBC.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes