Ring doorbell with smaller-than 18-gauge wire?

Old 11-11-18, 03:16 PM
B
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Ring doorbell with smaller-than 18-gauge wire?

Hello,

I've got a ring doorbell that I've been running off the battery for a couple years now, in part because I never found the time to hook it up properly to the wiring that was in place, but also because the original wiring is just dead (the doorbell never worked when we moved in). I'm trying to fix that now.

The problem is, a friend of mine who is a certified electrician recommended 18/2 wires to run to the doorbell, but whoever installed the original doorbell used a smaller gauge -- I'm thinking 20-4 AWG? Will using this original wiring suffice or will I risk burning the wire out? I'd really rather not have to re-run the wire if possible. Is doubling up the wires safe if a single one can't handle the load? This friend of mine said I should be okay, but he seemed somewhat apprehensive at saying so.

To test it, I was able to power the ring just fine off a transformer I bought that provides 16 volt, 10VA through that wire (the transformer can provide 8 volts and 24 volts too, but 16 seems to work).

Anyway, long story made short, can I just use the original wiring? I want to do things the right way, but geesh -- pulling new wire through all of this will be a pain.

Here are some pictures of the wiring and the wire itself. Thanks in advance.

Name:  0 (1).jpg
Views: 11155
Size:  50.1 KB

Name:  0.jpg
Views: 10795
Size:  46.8 KB

Last edited by PJmax; 11-11-18 at 04:08 PM. Reason: added pics from links
Old 11-11-18, 04:11 PM
Group Moderator
Received 3,340 Upvotes on 2,999 Posts