8 gauge wire but low wattage

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-13-18, 09:26 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 11
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
8 gauge wire but low wattage

I looking at putting in a wall oven and its electrical rating is 3.9kw at 240v 60hz. The appliance has 8 gauge wire coming out of it and a sticker that says I must use 8ga. Now, I know it’s standard that 8 gauge wire would usually require a 40A breaker but the 3.9kw is screaming a 20A breaker. Am I missing something here? Please help, any insight would be great .
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-13-18, 09:32 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 53,054
Received 370 Votes on 347 Posts
That's unusual. Most appliances just give the operating specs and don't actually list a specific wire size to be used. It is perfectly acceptable to use larger wiring and protect the circuit at a lower amperage based on appliance demand. 3.9kw is only around 16+ amps and could run quite fine on #10 wiring protected at 20A or 30A.

Can you post the model number for that oven ?
 
  #3  
Old 11-13-18, 09:41 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 11
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Sure thing, Model # is WOS51EC0HS00 whirlpool
 
  #4  
Old 11-13-18, 10:15 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 53,054
Received 370 Votes on 347 Posts
I could find nothing that states that #8 wiring must be used with your oven.
Apparently that whip is used on many different wall oven models which is probably why it's so large.
 
  #5  
Old 11-14-18, 04:27 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 11
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Standby please , when I get home this eve I will check again, I thought it was a sticker on the actual unit itself which quite possibly wouldn’t be on the manuals.
 
  #6  
Old 11-14-18, 04:49 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 11
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It says warning fire hazard, Use eight gauge copper wire
 
  #7  
Old 11-14-18, 05:26 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 53,054
Received 370 Votes on 347 Posts
I would contact Whirlpool as that is not correct. There is no need to use that sized wire.

Whirlpool customer services/contact-us
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: