Sub panel question. I'm confused

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-16-18, 06:52 AM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: United States
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Sub panel question. I'm confused

Hi. I want to install a sub panel in my workshop and feed it from the main panel. I bought an Eaton BR indoor main lug panel that can accommodate 8 circuits which will be perfect for my needs. Upon inspection I noticed that the panel has only 1 bus bar in it, and I was expecting 2. One for grounds and one for neutrals. Did I get the wrong type of box? If NO, how would this guy wire up, I'm assuming the bar is for neutral...

John
 
Attached Images  
  #2  
Old 11-16-18, 06:55 AM
A
Member
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,650
Received 48 Votes on 43 Posts
They like to nickle and dime you for these. You need to buy a ground kit. It attaches the the pre-tapped holes to the right of the neutral bar.

https://www.homedepot.com/p/Eaton-14...20CS/100199885
 
  #3  
Old 11-16-18, 07:08 AM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: United States
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
:/

Thanks, I wondered if that was the case but sorta didn't want to believe they would actually do that.
 
  #4  
Old 11-16-18, 07:30 AM
P
Member
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: United States, Virginia
Posts: 1,513
Received 125 Votes on 99 Posts
Be aware if your shop is detached from the structure that the main panel is in you need to have a main disconnect at the shop if there is more than 6 breakers in the subpanel per the NEC. I suggest using a main breaker panel in detached structures.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: