Sub panel question. I'm confused

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-16-18, 06:52 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: United States
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Sub panel question. I'm confused

Hi. I want to install a sub panel in my workshop and feed it from the main panel. I bought an Eaton BR indoor main lug panel that can accommodate 8 circuits which will be perfect for my needs. Upon inspection I noticed that the panel has only 1 bus bar in it, and I was expecting 2. One for grounds and one for neutrals. Did I get the wrong type of box? If NO, how would this guy wire up, I'm assuming the bar is for neutral...

John
 
Attached Images  
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-16-18, 06:55 AM
Member
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,423
Received 12 Votes on 11 Posts
They like to nickle and dime you for these. You need to buy a ground kit. It attaches the the pre-tapped holes to the right of the neutral bar.

https://www.homedepot.com/p/Eaton-14...20CS/100199885
 
  #3  
Old 11-16-18, 07:08 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: United States
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
:/

Thanks, I wondered if that was the case but sorta didn't want to believe they would actually do that.
 
  #4  
Old 11-16-18, 07:30 AM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: United States, Virginia
Posts: 1,219
Received 26 Votes on 21 Posts
Be aware if your shop is detached from the structure that the main panel is in you need to have a main disconnect at the shop if there is more than 6 breakers in the subpanel per the NEC. I suggest using a main breaker panel in detached structures.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: