Cable access wall plate for Carlon B118A

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-22-18, 09:09 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 29
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Cable access wall plate for Carlon B118A

Hello everyone.

This is probably a stupid question, but my wall looks terrible right now and I just can't find a way to fix it. While building my house, I had conduit run in various places. The electrician terminated the conduit runs in Carlon B118A outlet boxes which he then covered with blank wall plates. Obviously those plates need to go to make the conduit useful, but I don't want a big hole in my wall. I wanted to get something like the Legrand WP1014-WH-V1 to cover it up, but it seems like everything available has screws farther apart than what the box accommodates. Is anyone aware of a decent looking cable access wall plate that would fit on a Carlon B118A? Failing that, I would greatly appreciate suggestions on how to make something like the Legrand product work.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-22-18, 09:16 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 54,227
Received 478 Votes on 448 Posts
The Carlon B118A are plastic nail-on gem boxes. They don't accept conduit connections.
Are you talking about plastic smurf tubing ?

That LeGrand part gets screwed to the box and then a decora plate goes over that.

Name:  plate.jpg
Views: 108
Size:  12.5 KB
 
  #3  
Old 11-22-18, 09:23 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 29
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I could definitely be mistaken, I'm no electrician. To me it looks like he drilled a hole in the box to use it for conduit. Here's a picture. I'm not sure why my pictures keep showing up sideways, it is right side up on my computer.

Name:  20181122_111834.jpg
Views: 136
Size:  64.4 KB
 

Last edited by PJmax; 11-22-18 at 09:33 AM. Reason: reoriented pic
  #4  
Old 11-22-18, 09:28 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 29
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
So are you saying these would fit even without the bracket part? I would just screw the brush into the box and then put the plate over that? Would it matter that the plate screws would be going into drywall?

https://smile.amazon.com/Fosmon-Open...l%2Bplate&th=1
 
  #5  
Old 11-22-18, 09:36 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 54,227
Received 478 Votes on 448 Posts
Your picture was fairly large. The board compressed it and rotated it to fit better. With smaller pictures that doesn't happen.

That is called smurf tube. Used predominantly for low voltage wiring.

Those are the same exact thing I've pictured. You can't see it in that picture but they are also two pieces.
 
  #6  
Old 11-22-18, 10:04 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 29
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for the tip! I'll try to downsize them in the future before uploading.

I think my last post might have cross-posted with yours:

So are you saying the item linked below would fit even without the bracket part? I would just screw the brush into the box and then put the plate over that? Would it matter that the plate screws would be going into drywall?

https://smile.amazon.com/Fosmon-Open...l%2Bplate&th=1
 
  #7  
Old 11-22-18, 10:14 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 7,033
Received 113 Votes on 103 Posts
That item is a decora plate. It screws to a decors device. In this case the device is plate. It's the same plate that fits decors switches and receptacles.

You can get plate that don't need device and screw direct to the box. Here is an example.


Name:  white-commercial-electric-coaxial-wall-plates-dual-f-connector-wll-plate-64_1000.jpg
Views: 86
Size:  15.7 KB
 
  #8  
Old 11-22-18, 11:01 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,983
Received 35 Votes on 30 Posts
Boxes and trim plates are standard sizes. Your screws will not go into the drywall .
 
  #9  
Old 11-22-18, 11:17 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 54,227
Received 478 Votes on 448 Posts
Those are the same exact thing I've pictured. You can't see it in that picture but they are also two pieces.
Not sure what the confusion is. Go to your link to the Fosmon plates. Click on the pictures in the upper left corner. Those Fosmon plates are 100% the same as what I posted. They are two parts and both MUST be used together.
 
  #10  
Old 11-25-18, 05:07 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 10,237
Received 39 Votes on 31 Posts
The electrician terminated the conduit runs in Carlon B118A outlet boxes which he then covered with blank wall plates.

That is one of the worst hack jobs I have ever seen and I have seen a few. Surely you didn't pay to have this done. One thing for sure, it was never inspected. That guy was no electrician.
 
  #11  
Old 11-25-18, 05:22 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 54,227
Received 478 Votes on 448 Posts
It's only for low voltage Joe. Many guys just use a ring with no box.
 
  #12  
Old 11-25-18, 05:57 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 10,237
Received 39 Votes on 31 Posts
True, it's just low voltage, but would you put your name on a hack job like that? Even for low voltage no inspector I have known would ever allow a job like that. A low voltage frame rather than a butchered box would make a much better installation.
 
  #13  
Old 11-25-18, 06:05 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 29
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I wasn't thrilled with it, but when you're buying a townhome from someone putting up a new subdivision you either live with their low voltage person or do it after the wall is up and painted. I think it looks okay now. I wouldn't hire the guy for future work.

This time I specifically shrunk the files down to a reasonable size before uploading, and it still turned them sideways on me.

Name:  w1.jpg
Views: 46
Size:  33.9 KB

Name:  w2.jpg
Views: 47
Size:  61.5 KB
 

Last edited by PJmax; 11-25-18 at 06:19 PM. Reason: reoriented pics
  #14  
Old 11-25-18, 06:20 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 54,227
Received 478 Votes on 448 Posts
Interesting. Did you send from a laptop or desktop computer ?
If sent from a pad.... was it turned ?
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: