Convert 4 way into three way

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-29-18, 11:16 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Convert 4 way into three way

I am trying to remove one of my switches so that they can install a three-way Alexa switch that will allow me to still control two of the switches that I actually use. So far Iíve been unsuccessful and Iím not sure what I need to do to bypass one of the three way switches. If I can install the 3 way switch into 4 way setup that would be ideal.

 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-30-18, 09:09 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 7,047
Received 115 Votes on 105 Posts
A four way switch setup(3 or more switches controlling a light) has two three way switches in the circuit. You should be able to swap one of them out for your new Alexa switch. The only issue might be if the Alexa needs a neutral. Some switch setups do not have a neutral in the switch box.
 
  #3  
Old 11-30-18, 09:13 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 54,265
Received 482 Votes on 452 Posts
I'm not aware of an actual "Alexa" switch. There are many that are Alexa controlled or compatible.
Let us know which one you are looking at.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: