Surge protection outlet.

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-11-18, 03:41 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 30
Surge protection outlet.

Has anyone used these surge protection outlets before an when they trip will it pop the breaker ?
This one is not audible just a light indicator.

Im not fond of the plug in strip surge protectors an dont want more outlets on the circuit either since it has lights on it too an is a 15amp. .
Im looking to install one in next outlet after the gfci/arc combo outlet ..
Maybe they will make one that does all 3. If not already .
Any info is appreciated.
Thanks
 
Attached Images   
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-11-18, 05:34 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 12,449
The first picture is an combo arc fault circuit interrupter / ground fault circuit interrupter. These do nothing for surge protection which would be a higher then normal voltage.

The 2nd picture is a surge protection receptacle, but does not provide any arc fault or ground fault protection.

I have not seen a AFCI/GFCI/TVSS device as of yet. So your plan to install the AFCI/GFCI and then the TVSS receptacle should work fine.
 
  #3  
Old 12-12-18, 11:42 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,556
Has anyone used these surge protection outlets before an when they trip will it pop the breaker ? This one is not audible just a light indicator.

No, the breaker will not trip when a surge is detected nor is there a trip function on the protector. I believe on this type protector the indicator light signifies that the device is working and when the light goes out you have lost surge protection and need to replace the surge device. I am not sure what the cost is, but think a surge breaker may be a better investment being that it will protect the entire house. Now that electronics are found in all new kitchen appliances, the furnace and air conditioner, I believe whole house surge protection is vital. This is the one I have:


https://www.homedepot.com/p/Eaton-15...URGE/205448789
 
  #4  
Old 12-12-18, 12:43 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 30
Id need a ,hard to find single Eaton or double Tandom one unless i get a whole house protector
 
Attached Images  
  #5  
Old 12-12-18, 04:12 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 30
Where would a whole house surge go on this type panel?

Unfortunately the circuit its on is half of the tandem 15 an its 14/2 ..

[pic is before a few updates an replacement of seimans breaker to eaton]

Arc/gfcI installed an surge outlet ../lights now remain on if tripped.All tested good .

Id like to protect entire panel/wiring as you spoke on though .
 
Attached Images  

Last edited by trotter321; 12-12-18 at 04:20 PM. Reason: Word
  #6  
Old 12-12-18, 05:15 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 5,751
Surge protector needs to be on a double pole breaker supplying 240 volts so that it gets attached to each leg.
 
  #7  
Old 12-12-18, 06:15 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 12,449
Where is your main breaker or disconnect? It appears the panel in the picture is a sub panel.
 
  #8  
Old 12-12-18, 09:17 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 4,350
I've used those surge protector receptacles in the past for a couple specific appliances. But nowadays, I would rather use a whole house surge protector, and high quality surge protector power strip on key electronics (TV, computer, etc).

I've used this specific whole house surge protector a few times (Intermatic)
https://www.amazon.com/Intermatic-IG.../dp/B003NVLWN2

It's usable on any panel (needs a double-pole breaker) and based on specs, it's a good mid-range and mid-cost device.
 
  #9  
Old 01-07-19, 10:48 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 30
What type house surge will i need for the main breaker- in my pic from Breaker thread ?
 
  #10  
Old 01-08-19, 04:17 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,662
You Will not find surge protection to go in your disconnect.
 
  #11  
Old 01-09-19, 03:27 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 30
Then would it go inside at my panel before the breakers -or at the Main 100 amp breaker outside- that is beside the meter ?
 
  #12  
Old 01-10-19, 06:38 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,556
Then would it go inside at my panel before the breakers

No, many of them get wire to a 2-pole breaker AFTER the main breaker or main lugs.


or at the Main 100 amp breaker outside- that is beside the meter ?



pcboss just answered this question.

You Will not find surge protection to go in your disconnect.
 
  #13  
Old 01-12-19, 10:24 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 30
These go on the outside or inside but i dont think its meant for this box .
i guess i could put one like it by eaton in panel -though my outside 100amp breakers wont be protected .
 
Attached Images   
  #14  
Old 01-12-19, 06:13 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,556
The Square SDSA1175 would be fine. It wires into a 2 pole breaker you install in your panel.



As found on page 3 of the instruction manual:

6. Connect the white (neutral) wire to the
neutral bar. When no neutral is present,
connect the white wire to ground.
Connect the black wire(s) to the circuit
breaker.

http://download.schneider-electric.c..._Ref=8291-0014
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes