Wiring a 3way switch

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-12-18, 12:36 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: United States
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Wiring a 3way switch

I'm trying to replace an existing 3way switch with a wifi version. When I connect the new switch, there's power to the switch (I can see it on wifi), but the switch doesn't do anything. Also the other regular switches that are part of this 3way stop working as well. The only wire i'm sure about is the copper ground wire that connects to the green wire on the switch. I think the black one might be line/load? Not sure. There are two sets of twisted wires. One pair is black and red. The other is white and red.
 
Attached Images     
  #2  
Old 12-12-18, 12:57 PM
M
Member
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 4,032
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
The original switch is a 4-way, not a 3-way. You'll want to find one of the 3-way switches on that light circuit and put your wifi switch there. Also, it looks like you took the white wire (a traveler) off the original switch and connected it to the neutral on the new wifi switch? That will not work. You need an actual neutral from the box. Pigtail off the white wires inside the box at the permanent switch location (where the 3-way is).

I'm curious as to why the traveler colors were switched at the 4-way. I suspect you have a white from one cable and black from another tied together inside the box? It's a moot point, since you won't be using that box anyhow. Was just curious.
 

Last edited by mossman; 12-12-18 at 01:12 PM.
  #3  
Old 12-12-18, 01:49 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: United States
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I came to the same conclusion about this being a 4way. So installed it on one of the 3ways and it's working now. Not sure about the wiring colors (the builder did them this way)
 
  #4  
Old 12-12-18, 01:59 PM
M
Member
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 4,032
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
Glad that you got it working!
 
  #5  
Old 12-12-18, 05:03 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,828
Received 1,331 Votes on 1,230 Posts
There are no set colors in a three way/four way circuit.

If the feed is at one three way switch and the light/load is at the other three way switch....... white is carried thru and the red/black are travelers. If it's a three way switch loop (dead end 3w switch)...... power is carried thru to the last switch on black and red/white wires are travelers.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: