Trying to hook up tire changer motor to switch

Closed Thread

  #1  
Old 12-21-18, 09:33 PM
H
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 29
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Trying to hook up tire changer motor to switch

Name:  20181219_040425.jpg
Views: 5566
Size:  82.1 KBName:  20181219_040501.jpg
Views: 5621
Size:  83.4 KB<ol><li>Hi guys I'm new to the forum. I purchased a new tire changer when I reserve it it had a 220v 3 phase motor which my garage is not wired for so I call the company and they sent me a 110v motor that is another that come with tire changer if that's what u need but I can't figure out what wires go to what # on the switch, I email the company they sent me information where the wires go but it's not right. The motor has forward and reverse but dont know how it hooks up hope someone can help me out . I would like to send pictures but don't know how</li></ol>
 
Attached Images  

Last edited by harley2009; 12-21-18 at 09:57 PM.
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-21-18, 09:49 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 7,610
Received 266 Votes on 230 Posts
We need a lot more info to help you.
Make and model of changer, motor. A link to the info they sent you.
It is not always a simple change to go from three phase to one phase.
 
  #3  
Old 12-21-18, 09:50 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,583
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Please post a clear picture of the connection diagram on the motor. https://www.doityourself.com/forum/e...-pictures.html
 
  #4  
Old 12-21-18, 10:00 PM
H
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 29
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
It's a Chinese make tire changer
 
  #5  
Old 12-21-18, 10:16 PM
H
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 29
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Another picture of other side of switch
 
Attached Images  
  #6  
Old 12-21-18, 10:28 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,717
Received 1,180 Votes on 1,093 Posts
If that is the old three phase switch..... it will need to be rewired for single phase operation. The entire machine needs to be converted to single phase. Without any type of wiring diagrams... we can only guess.
 
  #7  
Old 12-22-18, 06:13 AM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 13,665
Received 221 Votes on 195 Posts
That is likely a 3 pole drum switch. There is a diagram on the motor. Can you post a clear picture of that and pictures of the drum switch from all sides?
 
  #8  
Old 12-22-18, 07:21 PM
H
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 29
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
HI guys here is picture of diagram on motor and pictures of switch

Name:  20181222_213700.jpg
Views: 4074
Size:  84.8 KB

Name:  20181222_213643.jpg
Views: 4088
Size:  87.6 KB

Name:  20181222_213634.jpg
Views: 3847
Size:  87.8 KB

Name:  20181222_213549.jpg
Views: 3935
Size:  93.5 KB

Name:  xd.jpg
Views: 4126
Size:  44.2 KB
 

Last edited by PJmax; 12-22-18 at 08:16 PM. Reason: added closeup of motor plate
  #9  
Old 12-23-18, 02:46 PM
H
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 29
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Can u guys see pictures that I took of switch and motor
 
  #10  
Old 12-23-18, 02:57 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,583
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Yes we can see. Best option may be to just return the tire changer for a 120 volt single phase one.
 

Last edited by ray2047; 12-23-18 at 06:33 PM.
  #11  
Old 12-23-18, 02:59 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 13,665
Received 221 Votes on 195 Posts
Yes.

I have been staring at the switch and motor pictures off and on today and it appears to me that it is a 3 phase drum switch but has 12 terminals rather then the standard 6. I can see a jumper between the following terminals (please tell me if I am wrong)
11-7
9-5
3-1
12-10
8-6
4-2

Also in the terminal block picture it looks like the upper left cord is the wires to the switch, what is the cord that connects to the right of the block (blue and brown)?
 
  #12  
Old 12-23-18, 05:55 PM
H
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 29
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
That correct
11-7
9-5
3-1
12-11
8-6
4-2
are jumpers and blue and brown to the right goes to the other capacitor.
 
  #13  
Old 12-23-18, 05:59 PM
H
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 29
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
I ask the company to send me something to tell me want wire hook up where on the with but it arc out. It's not right.
 
  #14  
Old 12-23-18, 06:07 PM
H
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 29
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
The company send a email that engineer said the
blue wire goes to 9 on the switch
brown-5
yellow-1
black-3
and the two power wires went to 2 and 4 but 2 and 4 are jumped and arc out
 

Last edited by harley2009; 12-23-18 at 06:36 PM.
  #15  
Old 12-23-18, 06:11 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,717
Received 1,180 Votes on 1,093 Posts
I've been staring at the switch too. It's hard to get a feel for the operation of the contacts.
I didn't get a chance to go over this diagram but I think it will work.
I want Scott to check it out too.

More than likely..... all or most of the jumpers get removed.

Wiring diagram
 
  #16  
Old 12-23-18, 07:08 PM
H
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 29
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Hi I have a picture of the wires coming from the motor that hooks up to the switch. I think the switch saids 110v and 220v and phase 1 and phase 3
 
  #17  
Old 12-23-18, 07:26 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,717
Received 1,180 Votes on 1,093 Posts
Your problem is that your switch is currently jumpered as a three phase control.
The jumpers need to be repostioned for single phase operation.
 
  #18  
Old 12-23-18, 07:39 PM
H
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 29
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
How can figure out how it suppose to be
 
  #19  
Old 12-23-18, 07:43 PM
H
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 29
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
I tryed to send a video of the switch it won't let me
 
  #20  
Old 12-24-18, 05:56 AM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 4,875
Received 78 Votes on 73 Posts
Hi Pete, that print is not showing the capacitors , sure would be nice to have the switch and motor in front of us, maybe it would be helpful if the start/ run windings could be identified on the motor.
Just a thought.
Geo
 

Last edited by Geochurchi; 12-24-18 at 07:29 AM.
  #21  
Old 12-24-18, 08:30 AM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 13,665
Received 221 Votes on 195 Posts
Based on the motor wiring diagram the switch just needs to flip two poles, almost like a double pole, double throw with a middle off position. If we can identify the right poles on the switch I would think that switch would work.

if we can identify what terminals are active in the forward and reverse position of the switch we should be able to wire it.
 
  #22  
Old 12-24-18, 09:55 AM
H
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 29
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Hi guys I email a business that sell same tire changer ask them about wiring for 110v and sent a diagram of switch I tryed it the motor work with switch in forward or reverse and didn't change rotation. So 9-5-1 are joined together
11-7-3 are joined together
and 6-8
10-12
L -5
N-11

there something not right he said same wiring as 220v
 
  #23  
Old 12-24-18, 10:37 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,583
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
PM me and I'll give you an email address you can send them so I can remote post them for you.
 
  #24  
Old 12-24-18, 03:29 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,583
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
OP wrote:
I email a business that sell same tire changer ask them about wiring for 110v and sent a diagram of switch I
Here are the O/P's new diagrams:



 
  #25  
Old 12-25-18, 05:40 AM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 13,665
Received 221 Votes on 195 Posts
You changed the jumpers between the terminals as shown in the lower 220v diagram and connected the line as neutral as shown? Double check all the jumpers and wire connections. It would be easy to have one wrong.
 
  #26  
Old 12-25-18, 08:30 AM
H
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 29
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Merry Christmas to everyone on this forum and their family. Yes I did check everything over, the motor comessage on without putting switch in forward or reverse and don't turn off onless I remove wire not having much luck with this at all
 
  #27  
Old 12-25-18, 08:35 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,583
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
You may need to take it to saa motor shop.
 
  #28  
Old 12-25-18, 10:02 AM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 13,665
Received 221 Votes on 195 Posts
As Geo posted, if I had it in front of us we could figure it out. It is just really hard through a forum. We can see the outside jumpers but we don't know what is happening on the inside.

Harley - Your best bet might be finding somebody locally that can trouble shoot the wiring.

Otherwise if you have, or can get a meter, that can help. Remove all the wires and jumpers from the switch and then check for continuity between the terminals with the switch in the forward position and the reverse position. The middle position (off) should have no continuity between any terminal.
 
  #29  
Old 12-25-18, 10:11 AM
H
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 29
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
I have a meter I can check. I did call a motor shop local they didn't want anything to do with it.
 
  #30  
Old 12-25-18, 12:59 PM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 4,875
Received 78 Votes on 73 Posts
How many wires are coming directly out of the motor and what are the numbers and colors? What is the resistance reading between them?
Geo
 
  #31  
Old 12-25-18, 01:08 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,717
Received 1,180 Votes on 1,093 Posts
The motor info is in the first post..... in the picture.
Typical basic motor...... a run winding and a start winding. Four wires.
 
  #32  
Old 12-25-18, 07:25 PM
H
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 29
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
It seems like it got 2 sets of red - blue- yellow wires coming out of motor . But there is 4 wires going to switch
 
  #33  
Old 12-26-18, 06:17 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 13,665
Received 221 Votes on 195 Posts
I have a meter I can check. I did call a motor shop local they didn't want anything to do with it.
You would likely need to just fine an electrician or anybody that is good with a meter.

If you are willing to go through everything with a meter he is what I would do if I was standing in front of it:
Take off all the wires and jumpers installed on the switch.
with the meter set the switch in the forward position and check all the terminals for continuity. You will need to check each and every one. So between 1 and 2, 1 and 3, 1 and 4, all the way to 11 and 12.
Then do the same with the switch in the reverse position.
Post all results and we could likely figure it out.
 
  #34  
Old 12-27-18, 06:13 PM
H
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 29
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Hi guys I took all jumpers off and dI'd a continuity test with the lever pushed ahead don't know if its forward or reverse but 1-2 5-6 3-4 11-12 got continuity I then push lever back same thing 1-2 5-6 3-4 11-12 got continuity and with the switch in off postion 5-6 11-12 got continuity I hope this information helps
 
  #35  
Old 12-27-18, 06:21 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 13,665
Received 221 Votes on 195 Posts
You get nothing between 9 or 10 and any other terminal? If the switch is the same in both directions that switch will likely not work. Something needs to change in the switch for it to change the motors direction.

I have searched tire reversing switch and they all look like the OP's. I hope ray's post below is right. Although I don't see where to connect the power.
 

Last edited by Tolyn Ironhand; 12-27-18 at 07:16 PM.
  #36  
Old 12-27-18, 07:10 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,583
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
]Posted for the O/P: ,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

[attach]99839[/attach

Name:  b.jpg
Views: 4670
Size:  17.7 KB
 
Attached Images  
  #37  
Old 12-27-18, 07:29 PM
H
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 29
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
No there is nothing on 9-10
 
  #38  
Old 12-27-18, 07:42 PM
H
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 29
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
This is the wiring I used but it dont work.
 
  #39  
Old 12-27-18, 07:55 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 13,665
Received 221 Votes on 195 Posts
Perhaps the switch was damaged when you connected it and cause the short. They all look like the one you have for tire changers. Here is a replacement: https://www.amazon.com/Changer-Keens...E+SWITCH&psc=1 ( maybe they have a diagram available too. (Others are available)
 
  #40  
Old 12-28-18, 11:21 AM
H
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 29
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Hi guys I took the switch apart there is nothing burn up in the switch.
 
Closed Thread
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: