Relocating Service Line - Can I run it above concrete?

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-01-19, 05:45 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Relocating Service Line - Can I run it above concrete?

My main service line coming to my home comes from a utility power in my alley at the rear of my home. The line runs directly to an overhead mast which routes it to the main panel on the back of my house. It passes directly past my garage. I wish to add some more power to my garage as is currently on a single 20amp circuit of the same panel.

My rough idea is to reroute my current supply to a new meter and small panel on the garage. I could add a few circuits for the garage off this panel, and power to the main panel on my house would get buried from the meter to the existing panel on the house. This would also help me eliminate the ugly power lines cutting across my backyard and over my deck.

However, the deck poses the problem. Burying the supply line from the new meter to the existing panel on the house poses a challenge. The panel is on the exterior of the house where there is a large deck. Would I have to tear up this deck and the solid pad of concrete below it to get the supply line to the house? Would it be possibly to pop the conduit up under the deck and continue it to the panel via exposed conduit?

To clarify, I am asking if I can have an exposed portion of conduit under my deck carrying a full 3 wire electrical supply, or does it have to be buried all the way to the foundation of the house.

BTW, I will in no way be doing this work. I will certainly hire a licensed electrician., so not a DIY, but hoping for some guidance as I a plan.

Thank you all in advance.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-01-19, 06:01 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 12,967
Received 59 Votes on 52 Posts
Since the house panel will change to a sub panel you will be required to install a 4 wire feed. (Hot, Hot, Neutral, Ground)

The new feeder from the garage to the house is not required to be buried in the ground and is only required to be protected from physical damage. Any wiring method can be used to achieve that.
 
  #3  
Old 01-01-19, 06:14 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 4,693
Received 28 Votes on 27 Posts
You can definitely do this, but it would require coordinating the drop relocation with the power company and the new meter/panel setups permitted and inspected by your local town/city. As Tolyn alluded to, your main panel would be in the garage. Then you'd run your house panel as a sub panel.

It wouldn't be a cheap plan, but certainly doable!
 
  #4  
Old 01-02-19, 06:25 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 10,051
Received 26 Votes on 20 Posts
I am asking if I can have an exposed portion of conduit under my deck carrying a full 3 wire electrical supply, or does it have to be buried all the way to the foundation of the house.

Like Tolyn mentioned, this will have to be a 4-wire feed as the house panel will now be a subpanel. I cannot think of a single reason the NEC would prohibit this project, but the prudent thing to do would be to check with your local building office to be sure if they will allow it. I would probably just have the contractor do that step, that's what he gets paid for.
 
  #5  
Old 01-04-19, 07:55 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,944
Received 42 Votes on 40 Posts
First step should be to contact either your power company or a local electrical contractor to verify the proposed location of the meter is acceptable. I agree there is no problem with the plan per national code, but localities often have their own rules for meter placement. Both the power company and the local inspector's office need to approve a meter relocation.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: