Adding outlet from existing light switch

Old 01-12-19, 01:54 AM
Adding outlet from existing light switch

Hi everyone,

I'd like to add a standard 15-amp duplex outlet near my front door so I can set up a security camera and record any "porch pirates" that try to steal our Amazon packages. My plan is to add an outlet by tapping into the existing 4-gang switch that is near the front door. I would add the outlet directly below the switch at the standard 12in height from the floor. Problem is, when I removed the switch covers and inspected the wiring in the box, it was a lot more complicated than I expected (at least for me). From left to right, the box has four switches:

1. Lutron dimmer switch - controls the foyer light
2. Single pole rocker switch - not sure what this controls
3. GE SunSmart digital timer - controls the porch light
4. GE SunSmart digital timer - controls the outside garage lights

Trying to describe the wiring would be impossible, and I'm not an engineer so I don't know how to make a schematic, but I did make a realistic drawing of the wiring setup inside the box - link is below and drawing is also attached for your convenience. It's not an exact scale but I wanted to make it easy to see/read/understand; regarding how everything is wired up, it's very accurate. There are 5 separate Romex lines feeding into the box. I didn't show every Romex wire from every Romex line, just those that are connected to the switches... you can assume all of the Romex lines/wires are there and working properly.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/e0gs3v1uoe...90111.jpg?dl=0

My question: can I add an outlet from any of these switches? If so, what's the best way to do so? I'm still pretty new at this game, so feel free to talk to me slowly.

Thank you for your help!
~David

Name:  1a.jpg
Views: 28
Size:  74.2 KB

Last edited by PJmax; 01-12-19 at 02:10 PM. Reason: downsized pic
Sponsored Links
Old 01-12-19, 05:23 AM
Group Moderator