Bypass Motion Switch - LED Under Cabinet Lighting

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-20-19, 11:20 AM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: USA
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Bypass Motion Switch - LED Under Cabinet Lighting

I just purchased some under LED under cabinet lighting that I was hoping to connect to a switched outlet. Unfortunately the light will not come on when the outlet is switched on and requires either pressing a button on the light or triggering a separate motion switch that the wire feeds thorough. I had the thought of just bypassing the motion switch so I cut the end of the cable coming from the 24v transformer and discovered a red and black wire which was expected. I then cut the end of the wire that exits the other side of the motion switch and it had a red, black, and yellow wire. I'm assuming that since it can either be turned on via motion or the button on the LED light, that it is a 3 way switch setup.

While power was connected to the motion sensor, I connected the cable to the other side so that it's three wires were exposed. I used a multimeter and got 24 volts when touching the black and yellow wires and nothing in any other combination. Is it possible to remove the motion switch from the equation by splicing the two wires from the transformer with the three wires that go to the light bar in a certain manner? Here are some pics of the setup:

https://imgur.com/ahKp03u
https://imgur.com/NzOMvOc
https://imgur.com/Qvkikme

I don't believe I will have access to the button on the LED bar but I'm hoping it won't be necessary. Any guidance would be much appreciated.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-20-19, 12:15 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 58,402
Received 1,019 Votes on 946 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

I'd say black to black is a given.

It's just a matter of trying the three choices below.....
Connect red from the power supply to red of the lights.
Connect red from the power supply to yellow of the lights.
Connect red from the power supply to red and yellow of the lights.
 
  #3  
Old 01-20-19, 02:45 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: USA
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Well, based upon your suggestions, I decided to do some more experimenting and finally got it working. Here is what finally worked:

Connect red from power supply to red of the lights.
Connect black from power supply to black and yellow of the lights.

Thanks so much for your assistance!
 
  #4  
Old 01-20-19, 04:21 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 58,402
Received 1,019 Votes on 946 Posts
Good job. Thanks for letting us know how you made out.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: