Jetted tub electrical

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-23-19, 09:37 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Jetted tub electrical

We got an electrical permit and two inspections. The first inspection they told us the electrical for the tub had to where it is now, outside the tub, right next to it where water can easily splash onto the outlet. This does not make sense to us and now we are running out of time before the guy comes to finish our drywall and we want to be absolutely sure we have this correct. It is on a GFCI breaker.
 
Attached Images  
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-23-19, 10:45 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 10,230
Received 39 Votes on 31 Posts
You must satisfy your inspector so we really aren't the ones to ask, but if it were me I would replace the GFCI breaker with a regular 20 amp single pole breaker, I'd also install a deadfront GFCI device on the wall about 2 to 3 feet higher than the receptacle location in your picture and finally I would install a receptacle for the tub to plug into under the skirt.
 
  #3  
Old 01-23-19, 03:56 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,981
Received 35 Votes on 30 Posts
Agree with the above. The cord cannot route under the skirt.out to that receptacle.

A receptacle can be that close and meet the code.
 
  #4  
Old 01-23-19, 07:25 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 54,219
Received 477 Votes on 447 Posts
I agree with Joe too. The inspector is looking for a shutoff method outside the skirt. The plug is one way. A receptacle under the tub with a deadfront GFI up on the wall is another method.

Name:  deadfront.jpg
Views: 47
Size:  8.0 KB
 
  #5  
Old 01-24-19, 11:12 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 10,230
Received 39 Votes on 31 Posts
PJ, your picture is of an AFCI deadfront device, not a GFCI. I haven't seen a deadfront AFCI device yet.
 
  #6  
Old 01-24-19, 04:27 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 54,219
Received 477 Votes on 447 Posts
Well..... there ya go. Now you've seen it Joe.
The GFI looks identical. Instead of saying AFCI it says GFI.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: