Moving a 240v line

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-26-19, 05:16 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: USA
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Moving a 240v line

Hi,

I have a dryer outlet in my garage that I do not use. I tested the outlet with a multimeter and it is a 240v outlet. In the main breaker box this outlet has 2 - 30 amp breakers. I would like to move the the 240v line from my garage to my shed 100 feet from my main breaker box to run a 23 amp, 5hp, table saw. The table saw would be the only tool plugged into the 240v line. The shed currently has a 120v line running underground from the main breaker box that was installed by a licensed electrician. Is it possible to do what I want to do? Many thanks for any help.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-26-19, 06:17 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 1,255
Received 18 Votes on 17 Posts
Unless your shed is attached to your house, no you can't.
You may have only one feed to a building.
What you will have to do is run 50 or 60A to your shed and install a sub panel.

If you don't use table saw any other devices at the same time installing sub panel on 30A and run both 240V and 120V off this sub panel. But, your lights might flicker when running table saw.

Also, your existing 240V line must be 4 wire. You cannot extend 3 wire 120V/240V unless you will be using 240V only.
 
  #3  
Old 01-26-19, 07:38 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: USA
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thank you very much! Looks like I will be calling the licensed electrician
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: