GFCI Outlet

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-29-19, 08:10 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: United States
Posts: 81
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
GFCI Outlet

Can I install a 15 amp GFCI outlet in the kitchen/bathroom that that does not have a separate ground and be still be protected?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-29-19, 08:22 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 1,229
Received 17 Votes on 16 Posts
Yes. GFCI will work without ground.
However, do not forget that this still does not give you ground.
GFCI will not trip until you touch an appliance even if it has fault to ground.
 
  #3  
Old 01-29-19, 09:32 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
If you want even more safety code allows you to run a ground independent of the existing cable either from the panel only under older code or also from the nearest ground under latest code.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: